The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

It really was that good

on August 3, 2009

Tonight after church, I took Tyler and the kids on a “surprise drive.” Usually, Tyler is in on the surprises, but this one was for all of them. I proudly drove them to Walgreens in hopes of buying everyone the coconut M&M’s I went wacko over last week and posted all over Facebook. When we got there, the M&M’s were gone. Oh no!! So everyone just picked out another candy. And Tyler proceeded to choke on his Swedish Fish – I swear I saw him putting 6 in his mouth at once.

We got home and I ceremoniously opened my Harry and David Dark Chocolate Moose Munch Bar. If you haven’t had one, get one. Although they used to be more Moose Munch than chocolate, they’re still good. I was standing in the kitchen eating it, minding my own business and watching the kid’s tv show.

Both the kids suddenly looked at me and Austin said, “Mom, what ARE you doing?”

I replied, “Uh, eating my candy bar.”

Austin looked concerned and said, “And what else were you doing?”

I said, “Nothing,” and Amber started giggling.

Austin said, “Mom, you were going, ‘mmmmm, mmmmm,’ and moaning.”

I looked at Amber (who is the worst liar in the world) and said, “Did I really do that?”

She said, “Yes.” (She wasn’t worst liar-ing.)

I burst out laughing so hard that Tyler heard it upstairs over his Law & Order marathon. What the heck? I was completely unaware I was making any noise. Which made me panic. Have I done this before? In public? In front of friends who are too nice to bring it to my attention? In front of strangers?

Seriously people, I’m going to be 40 this week but isn’t that too old to lose it? I thought it was.

Leave a Reply

