The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

And my heart overflows

on August 4, 2009

I’m feeling a bit nostalgic today. Don’t really know why . . . . . other than I have a lot going on in my life right now. I turn 40 tomorrow. My mom’s cancer is progressing and she’s been moved into a skilled care facility, with the hopes that the physical therapy program will help her with her walking. My kids are gone until Saturday with Tyler’s parents. Just lots going on.

And yet I’m sitting here on my couch watching a rerun I’ve seen 34 times of “Everybody Loves Raymond” and my heart is overflowing. I am just so thankful. Thankful that God has blessed me with the kids He has. They are amazing and I am so thankful I get to be their mom and watch them grow. They aren’t perfect. Quite frankly, my son broke my heart yesterday with something he said to me. But it ended up facilitating a great conversation between the two of us. And my daughter is getting mouthier as she ages.

I’ve been listening to “The Time Traveler’s Wife” the last week or so. I decided I needed to read it before the movie came out and all the library had was an audio version. It’s been interesting, but it lets me “read” in the car which is great. Well, only when I don’t have the kids – there’s language and other stuff. I’m not giving anything away because on the previews on t.v. show her pregnant belly. So I’m at the part of the book where the daughter is being born. And it’s bringing back lots of memories of my kids. Lots.

I’m not one of those moms who wishes her kids were small again. The tween and teenage years are proving to have their own challenges, but it has something the younger years don’t . . . . authentic relationship. I have a relationship with my kids that didn’t exist in the “mommy” realm. And it’s so great. I like to think about them when they were small, but I really love to focus on the here and now and think about the future and where their lives will go. And yes, I realize that may be away from me.

And I am at the happiest point ever in my marriage. Ours has been a rough road and maybe some day I’ll talk about it. And maybe someday I won’t. All I can say is that it has not been the “happily ever after” Disney screwed me with I had planned on. But life never does turn out the way we think it should, does it? All that withstanding, I have never, ever been as happy as I am right. now. as far as my marriage is concerned.

If you need a little encouragement today, maybe you can get some from the verse I’m memorizing for the first part of August.

Yet the LORD longs to be gracious to you,
He rises to show you compassion.
For the LORD is a God of justice.
Blessed are all who wait on Him!

Isaiah 30:18


Maybe you need His graciousness today. Maybe His compassion. Or His justice. Maybe you just need to know that you’re blessed for waiting on Him. Whatever it may be, God is so infinitely able to provide.

Leave a Reply

