The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

And then material just presents itself

on September 21, 2009

As most of you know, this was a really rough summer for me. It was my mom’s last summer and she was very, very ill for most all of it. She passed away one month ago today. I’ve struggled with my blog for a few months now . . . . wondering if it’s even worth it. Last night I think I pretty much decided to quit altogether and then today happened.

Tyler & Austin spent the day at Mt. Hood today riding the alpine slides. I was feeling extra girlie and treated Amber and myself to pedicures. I had the cutest, most adorable little slip of a girl working on my toes. At one point she looks up at me and says, “Your eyebrows are really nice.” I thanked her and told her my neighbor, who has a salon in her house, does them. That I’m so lucky to have her as my neighbor and how great she is, blah, blah, blah. The owner of the salon I’m in happens to be giving a pedicure right next to us.

And then this ensues:

The owner looks up at me and says, “Oh no, they’re too thick.” (I just had them done last week.) I was shocked. She said, “And they’re not even . . . . I can just take a little line off and they’ll look much better.” I said that I had very thick, dark hair and if my eyebrows are too thin, it just throws everything off. She says, “Well, if a person looks right at your face and sees you eybrows, you look scary.”

As I live and breathe.

Then she scrunched up her face in an attempt to make her most scary face and then repeated, “Your eyebrows look scary like that.” To which I replied, “Well, I like them.”

And my sweet little adorable slip of a pedicurist said sheepishly, “I like them, too.”

How could I ever quit when I’m given material like that??

One response to “And then material just presents itself

  1. […] course it was much better than this time so I didn’t commiserate for too […]

Leave a Reply

