The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

And you thought yesterday’s post was a stand alone event

on September 22, 2009

You all probably thought yesterday’s post was the only time I had ever been insulted whilst getting a pedicure. Sadly, it isn’t. The other event happened years ago when we lived in Alaska. It’s actually been on a list of mine of subjects to blog about. I’ve never gotten around to it and thought now is as good of time as any.

{I know, I know, you’re probably dying to know what else is on that list. Some of the lowest lowlights of my life . . . and we’ll leave it at that for now.}

In 2002-ish I decided to treat myself to a pedicure. At that point, Eagle River, AK only had one nail salon in town and I didn’t want to drive to Anchorage. That left me with one option and I gladly took it. I was so looking forward to a little pampering . . . oh who am I kidding. My kids were 6 and 4 and I needed out of the asylum before the inmates started running it!

I was chatting with the owner, who also happened to be giving me a pedicure. She asked me what I did. I said I stayed home and homeschooled my kids. She froze, looked up at me and very sarcastically said, “Oh, you’re really living the American dream.”

Again, as I live and breathe.

About that time her husband came in and she literally started yelling at him about how poorly he scheduled appointments (I was the only one in there at the time . . . I’m guessing scheduling wasn’t a huge problem). Then she starts going on and on and on about how some people who used to work for her were going to start their own salon in Eagle River and she made a point of calling them daily and telling them they weren’t loyal. That their business would fail. That there weren’t enough people in Eagle River to support two salons.

Sometime during the craziness, Martha Stewart Living came on the t.v. She glared at the t.v., glared at me and said, “THAT must be your favorite show! You and all your housewives.” I was fuming but decided to make her more miserable. I told her that I loved the show, watched it every day while my homeschooled son taught himself. All of which is a lie. I have serious issues with The Martha.

I think she believed me.

Long story short, I never went back. Her salon went out of business and the new salon, as far as I know, is still there. THEY were the nicest, sweetest people you’d ever want to meet.

So between this and the hair straightening guy at the mall wanting to get into a verbal argument about why curly hair is no longer in style, it really IS a miracle I go out in public anymore.

Leave a Reply

