The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Works For Me Wednesday – Dinner Prep at Lunchtime

on September 23, 2009

This tip I’m about to share I *think* I got from the Happy Housewife’s website. I’m about 99 9/10th’s sure I got it from her. Anyway, most of you probably already do this and you’re thinking, “Girl, time to get on the reality train!” But hey, some of us are slow learners.

What she said she does is do as much prep work for dinner at lunchtime. Lunchtime around our house is usually pretty laid back. . . . . meaning that I might have extra time on my hands. And since I have a monthly meal plan, most of the time I know what’s for dinner.

Yesterday I decided to give it a whirl. I started out first by shucking corn. On a side note, thank the good Lord above for side burners on gas grills. I was able to cook the corn outside on a VERY hot day and not steam up the inside of the house.


Next, I peeled the garlic, cut up the onions, red potatoes, sweet potatoes and yams for dinner. You can see it here with the 3 ring binder I keep all my menus in.

And here’s what time I got it all done:


It was really great to have all of the prep work down before dinner. I tend to not be the best time manager in the late afternoons {ahem, e-mail, Facebook and Twitter} and this was a great way to ensure a bit more peacefulness at dinner.

The peacefulness was short lived. The grill that I was boiling the corn on and heating up the garlic bread in decided to run out of propane before anything was done. But, my amazing hubby always makes sure there’s a second, completely full tank at my disposal. So while it wasn’t convenient, it was able to get done!!!

For more WFMW tips, head on over to We Are THAT Family’s blog.

Leave a Reply

