The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Because I made a promise . . . .

on September 24, 2009

. . . . I had to say no. And I don’t like saying no. And I really, really, really wanted to do what I was asked to do today.

You wouldn’t believe the ways I could have justified doing it. Here are a few of the top ways:

  1. I didn’t seek it out . . . . . I was asked out of the blue.
  2. It was a good thing. A very good thing.
  3. Did I mention I really wanted to do it?
  4. It would make God happy. At least it would in my mind.

What was the “thing?” The middle school youth pastor called me and asked if I would lead a girl’s small group this year on Tuesday nights. Talk about something being right up my alley! But I seem to remember giving a certain middle school girl her wings this summer. Something about giving her some freedom. And because of scheduling, the only way I could make it work was to be HER small group leader. Dang.

You see, I homeschool the kids which means we see a lot of each other. For the past two years I was also her Sunday school teacher. She’s seen enough of me at both church and home to last her a lifetime. And I really don’t want to make someone so miserable with my hovering ways that she’s tempted to go from this:


To this:


So with a heavy sigh, I had to turn the youth pastor down. I told him to definitely give me a ring when he needs help with things that are more behind the scenes.

Which means I’m already signed up to cook at summer camp next year.

Which means come next July I’ll be saying, “It sounded like such a good idea in September.”

Leave a Reply

