The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

The 30’s Edition

on October 18, 2009
To get the story behind this picture, click here.

Alright, after doing the 20’s edition of me a couple of days ago, here’s the 30’s edition . . . .

30 – This would be the year I discovered Beth Moore, thanks to a wonderful Bible study leader named Dee Smith. And ushered in a crazy decade of unbelievable spiritual growth.

31 – Two of my sisters in law were baby making factories for a couple of years. There were babies everywhere!! It was awesome for me, the one not taking care of the babies. Oh Hannah, Tristin, Brooklynn and Matthew, you made your Aunt Cheri so happy. I embarked on the now 9 year journey of homeschooling.

32 – The year things went haywire. In the span of six weeks, a fellow police officer was killed while Tyler was on duty, a dear, dear friend was killed in a plane crash and a friend’s daughter drowned in their bathtub. I went to three funerals for people ages 27, 35 and 21. All this happened in July and August. By the time September 11, 2001 rolled around, nothing fazed me anymore. I watched the news coverage and was just numb.

33 – After climbing out of the fog of the previous year, the kids and I went to San Diego with my parents to visit my brother and his family. This is the year everything changed. After driving around southern California for 2 1/2 weeks with my jaw dropped at how much there was outside of Alaska, I decided we needed to move. I told Tyler about as soon as I got off the plane. He said, “Every Alaskan thinks that after they take a vacation. Give it 30 days and see how you feel.” 30 days later I told him we were still moving.

34 – We moved!! Tyler was always on board for moving, but wanted to make sure it was really what I wanted to do and not running on emotion. Moving to the Pacific northwest was about the best thing we’ve ever done. We found an amazing church, wonderful friends and we got to see Tyler more than a few minutes a day.

35 – My parents packed up everything and left Alaska in order to be closer to all of their grandchildren. They moved down here and like I’ve said many times, I am so thankful for so many reasons.

36 – The year I seriously considered putting Austin in public school. This was by far the most difficult year I’ve ever had with him. He is one strong willed little bugger and this year did NOT let me forget in any way shape or form. We did RAT (Remedial Attitude Training – a name I made up) that summer and I was ready to homeschool again that fall.

37 – Went to Las Vegas for the first time . . . . ick. I seriously doubt I’ll ever be back. We also went to Disneyland and discovered Sonic!! We were so happy when we realized they were expanding to our part of the country! It’s a good thing that the closest one is about 25 minutes away.

38 – The year my life would change forever. My mom was diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer and a cancerous brain tumor. It was hard on all of us, but Tyler was my rock. He still is.

39 – We got our beagle. Yikes. Mom’s cancer was briefly in remission and came back with a vengeance. This year I realized she wasn’t getting better and Tyler and I began to prepare ourselves and the kids. Mom and I took what would be her last trip home to Alaska. It never got over 0 degrees the whole time we were there. And there was family drama, but I’m so glad I was able to make the trip with her.

As most of you know, 15 days after I turned 40 this past August, my mom lost her battle with cancer. But thankfully, Jesus won the battle with death and I know my mom is now in heaven, living her happily ever after.

Leave a Reply

