The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Beagle – 2, Cheri – 0

on October 21, 2009


I’m only half kidding about the picture.

Where to begin, where to begin? Yesterday Gwen decided I didn’t have enough to do. So while I was getting school books from the library, science experiment supplies from Fred Meyer and dropping a package off at the post office for Tyler, she came up with a little plan. She thought it would be great if she went outside in the mud and dug with what appears to be all four of her paws. They would be literally CAKED with mud. Then she would run in the house while I was gone and the kids were busy doing school.

But that wasn’t enough. Instead of staying on the Pergo, she gleefully ran ALL OVER the living room and dining room where the carpet is a very, very light beige. And up on one couch that is thankfully leather. She knew the kids wouldn’t notice until it was too late (and I really don’t expect them to keep an eye on the dog while they’re supposed to be, ya know, learning).

Did I mention we have a dog door?

So I got to shampoo the entirety of the living and dining rooms. I’m thankful we have a carpet shampooer or I would not be writing this blog. I would be recovering in a padded room.

Later as I was having the kids set the table for dinner, Gwen came in and Amber started petting her. She so sweetly said, “Oh, you’re wet.” Then the sweetness turned to confusion, “You’re stinky.” And the confusion turned to disbelief and disgust, “You rolled in poop again!” It was then things got interesting. Amber frantically ran around trying to wash her hands with as much soap as possible and I started yelling at Gwen to get outside.

Did I mention it was 6:00, we still had to eat and we had to leave at 6:30 to get Austin to karate and Amber to her small group? I spent dinner yelling at Gwen, “NO!!” when she would even look like she wanted to come in. She stayed out while I wolfed down my dinner and was left with about 15 minutes to give a very stinky dog a bath.

I don’t know exactly what kind of stuff she rolled in. We have a huge backyard with a wooded area. It could have been from her, Belle, a cat, a raccoon, a possum, or an Ewok. I have no clue. And I wish she would QUIT!

As I passed out on the couch last night due to puppy induced exhaustion, I had but one thought. Surely tomorrow will be better.

Guess what? Today is tomorrow and she’s already thrown up in my bedroom.

Leave a Reply

