The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

I’m pretty sure the kids had H1N1

on October 27, 2009

After talking to a couple of friends tonight, I’m now about 99 and 9/10ths sure the kids had H1N1 this summer. Here’s the gist of why I think the way I do . . . . .

One of my friends had it this summer, too. She got it from her daughter, who got it from her son. And the son came home with it after summer camp. The same summer camp both of my kids were at. The three campers got sick at the same time with all the same H1N1 symptoms. Only my friend took her son to the doctor to have it confirmed – and it was.

I, on the other hand, was preoccupied with my mom’s losing battle with cancer. The H1N1 came less than three weeks before she died, so unless the kids were missing an appendage, I wouldn’t have taken them to the doctor. Well, maybe not that bad. Austin got it way worse than Amber did and I remember thinking if his fever didn’t break I would take him to the doctor. It broke that night.

I praise God that even though I was 100% preoccupied, HE wasn’t. He was still in control and still taking care of things when I couldn’t. I did everything in my power to take care of the kids . . . . . . but the thought of them being seriously ill never even crossed my mind. It was probably just God protecting me from going insane. Because if anyone is going to overreact, it’s going to be me.

His love is ever, ever upon us – even if we don’t notice for almost three months!

Leave a Reply

