The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

My favorite blog about my mom

on November 24, 2009

Today I’m doing a lot of baking and preparing for Thanksgiving. And using a few of the recipes my mom did. It gets me sentimental in a good way, even though this will be our first Thanksgiving without her. So I decided to republish my most favorite blog that I ever wrote about my mom. It was originally posted March 10, 2008 – just six weeks before our lives would change forever with her diagnosis.

Tupper-Love

I love Tupperware. If they had a Tupperware store that was bigger than the kiosks at the mall I might go in and never come out. I don’t know what it is about the stuff. And I’m talking real Tupperware here, the brand name. I don’t know if it’s the colors that always seem so perfect. Maybe it’s the thought that I really could have an organized pantry if I just let one of their consultants come into my kitchen and show me what I need to buy. Perhaps it’s because I love cooking and Tupperware is pretty much synonymous with the kitchen. I just can’t quite put my finger on it. I even told Tyler once that if he wanted to make me happy, just stop by the kiosk at the mall and pick me up a piece of Tupperware. Anything. I love it all.

How much Tupperware do I own? Honestly, not much. The biggest problem with Tupperware is the fact that I’m cheap and that stuff ain’t. The last party I went to I managed to skate out with measuring cups, a container for olive oil, aaaaaaaaand that’s about it. 99% of the few pieces I have came from either Ebay or garage sales.

So I decided to take a walk down memory lane on Ebay. My mom had tons upon tons of Tupperware when I was growing up. Some of the pieces she still has. And I’m convinced some of them are older than I am. I got so excited looking at the things she had that I actually gasped out loud. It was also funny how so many of them sparked a very specific memory. So I thought I’d share . . . . . . . .

Ah yes, the picnic set. We had this identical set just like it is in the picture. I think we went on a grand total of 3 picnics with it. My mom and I are a lot alike – we see something we must have and we have a million good reasons why we need it and promise ourselves we’ll use it to justify the outrageous price. Then we meet a thing called reality. Long after you can take the overpriced object of your desire back. Isn’t the orange a riot?

I think this was used to store lettuce or other veggies. The water would drain through the grid on the bottom and your vegetables wouldn’t be sitting in water. My mom still has this and uses it. It is now what they keep their stash of candy in. Just what my diabetic father needs . . . . . don’t get me started.

We had this in the same fetching yellow color. I think it was called “Harvest Gold” if I’m not mistaken. This must’ve been for condiments. I don’t remember what we used it for. We didn’t have the spoon thing. As you can see it is far too vibrant of a yellow to be associated with the 70’s color scheme. Must be from the 80’s – lol!

Then there’s what every hostess from 1978 needs, a Jello mold with changeable designs on top. I think my mom tried this 3 or 4 times, never with good results. We just couldn’t get that perfect Jello mold promised to us in the Tupperware catalog. Something in the molecular structure of plastic and gelatin, when combined, turned to super glue.

I’m pretty sure my parents still have this one as well. Even if it was horribly overpriced, the Blanton clan got their money’s worth, and more, out of this beauty. If you pushed the tab on the lid hard enough it would come apart. That used to drive my mom crazy if my brother or I did it. I think I hear the faint echoes of “paybacks” in the distance . . . .


This, this lovely lunch box set. Oh it still pains a small part of my heart every time I see one. I wanted one SO BAD but I never got it. At this point in my life, I can’t remember if I never got it because a.) I didn’t ask for it (very high likelihood) or b.) my mom said she could get a lunchbox cheaper at the store (also just as likely). Hmmm, now that I think about it, she could have gotten any ol’ crappy “Harvest Gold” pitcher at the store, too!

The super tall plastic tumblers. I was in 4th or 5th grade when she got these. She also bought the plastic tops that you could sip out of – a pre-cursor to sippy cups. For some reason, Mom thought my 8 year old brother and my 10 year old self needed sippy cups. One of her selling points was that it wouldn’t leak. Yeah, right. It was basically a spout coming out of a lid. They leaked. When she brought them home my dad looked at her like she’d lost her mind. Either my brother or I ended up putting straws down the spouts because we were to embarrassed to drink out of them. But Mom wanted the lids kept on. I have a feeling we were messy kids. Poor Mom.

Yeppers, these reek of a time long ago. We had the bottom one. My mom used hers so much that the inside bottom was all gouged up from stirring the pancake batter with a fork. I actually have a red one, too (Ebay purchase). Only my top is yellow and says “Bisquick” on it.

We had these for-ever. Our “P” and “S” were rubbed clean off. The only recollection I have of the letters are the faint outline left behind in the plastic from the pressure the stamp put on the containers. These were used very long and very well. These were replaced with . . . . . .

. . . . . these attractive brown shakers comin’ straight out of 1975. My parents still have these and use them. Me, being the smart mouthed kid that I still am, informed my mom not too long ago that she needed to wash them more. The tops were so gunky. Again I hear the “paybacks” refrain becoming ever more not so faint.

There was only one way to put powdered sugar on your waffles and this was it. It had the little handle you turned at the top and it would magically snow down on your breakfast. My brother and I used to routinely get syrup on the grid at the bottom and it would make the sugar stick together and not come out. I can’t believe my mom didn’t just throw the thing out. Would’a learned us a lesson!

The scoop. I probably scooped out hundreds of scoopfuls of sugar and flour with these. I think I even used one for the dog food once and nearly lost a limb when Mom found it. I can’t imagine these were cheap, either. Weren’t they great? I think I’m going to go back and bid on these . . . . .

The stacking spice rack. I don’t remember what all Mom put in these but each one had a little top with holes in it so you could sprinkle things out. There was only one solid lid – and as you can see that’s all you need. Unless you were us. The solid lid got broken pretty early on after purchase so and we were always dropping the whole thing and sprinkles would go everywhere. I think I need to get my mom a gift certificate to a day spa. For a week.

This was to be used to marinate meat or whatever in. My dad marinated some of the best steaks known to man in this bad boy. He was the chef of the family and I know I got my love of cooking and sense of adventure in the kitchen from him. I guess I now know where I got my love of Tupperware from!

2 responses to “My favorite blog about my mom

  1. Abby Normal says:

    Thank you for this very informative information. Got a huge load of unidentifiable tupperware from a friend and am searching the web for their names. Some things Ihave found, other are still leaving us pondering about what the heck they could be. sadly the tupperware site is not user freindly.

  2. […] one particular blog got a lot of traffic almost every single day.  And it’s a blog about my mom and our love of Tupperware.  Moms and Tupperware . . . . they last […]

Leave a Reply

