The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Lakewood Police Department Tragedy

on November 29, 2009

I think I’m still in shock.  If you don’t know what I’m talking about here’s a link.  In a nutshell, four Lakewood, Washington police officers were ambushed in a coffee shop this morning.  All four were shot and killed.  They were in full uniform, working on their laptops getting ready to start their shift.  Lakewood is about 2 hours north of where we live.

You think officers are safe on a Sunday morning.  At least I do.  That’s the shift my husband works two Sundays a month.  Day shift is supposed to be the “safe shift.”  At least that’s what I think.

I’ve been breathing a sigh of relief the last three years that Tyler has worked days.  And he’s starting his fourth in January.  But I guess life isn’t a guarantee and anything can happen at anytime.

Now I’m going to get controversial and I don’t really care.  I love the military. LOVE them!  I am 100% proud of them, 100% support them.  I don’t think they’re paid nearly enough for the priceless duty they willingly offer our country.  Our country owes our military so much more than they get.  We would not be the nation we are without the sacrifice so many have made since the start of this great nation.

So please don’t get me wrong with what I’m about to say.  I get so sick of the fanfare that the miliatry gets while law enforcement seems to only be tolerated in our society.  Law enforcement – city police, sheriff’s deputies, state troopers, and the law enforcement arm of countless federal agencies – put their life on the line every. single. day.  Period!  My husband has put on a bullet proof vest every day he’s gone to work for the last 12 1/2 years. 

I get sick of women whining that their husbands are deployed.  I have probably missed more holidays, birthdays, and major events with my husband than the average military wife.  Including THIS Thanksgiving and THIS Christmas.  And in all honesty, I cannot remember the last time I complained about it or even felt sorry for myself.  It’s part of the job and I accept that. 

Law enforcement are the ones who catch the rapist before he gets to your daughter. Law enforcement puts the drug dealer in jail so he can’t have access to your vulnerable niece. Law enforcement catches the arsonist before he has time to burn down your house. Law enforcement gets the drunk driver before she can plow through your family on a dark night. I’m not saying bad things don’t happen, that criminals always get caught but just think of what life would be like if everyone in jail was out on the street.

I’m also not saying there aren’t bad cops.  Two officers from the department my husband used to work for (thank you, God, we left that cesspool) are both in jail for: Officer #1) possessing child p*rn and child m*lestation; and Officer #2) raping women while he was on duty.  But there are bad people everywhere, in every walk of life and in every profession.  But by in large, most law enforcement officers, as well as military, are an honest and decent group of people.

So that’s my rant.  I don’t have any answers.  Just prayers for God to keep our country’s first responders – military, law enforcement, fire fighters, EMT’s – safe and appreciated for the services they offer.

Leave a Reply

