The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

The BIG Change

on April 1, 2010

I said I’d announce a big change in our household.  Well, without further adieu, here it is (and I can’t believe it, either) . . . . . . . . .

We have pre-purchased two beagle puppies from two different mothers/breed lines.  Someone on Facebook who guessed my surprise was that the beagle is pregnant was sort of right.  We have plenty of room and have decided to start breeding beagles.  As much as I complain about Gwen, she really is a great dog and we have all fallen in love with the breed.  We’re just keeping our fingers crossed that there’s at least ONE female in one litter and ONE male in the other.  One of the parents is completely red like Gwen and we’re hoping that there will be an all red puppy, too.

The idea started to percolate in my mind last summer.  I researched breeding extensively and visited local reputable and humane breeders.  They told me there is money to be made if you do it correctly.  Not tons of money, but if you own your own both the male and female it makes things much easier.  And you can “rent’ the male out to stud.  Since the male comes from an unbelievable line out of southwest Oregon, we’ll get a good stud fee for him . . . . . .eventually.

We even came up with a corny name for our kennel (sounds very strange to say that when there aren’t any pups here yet): Bee Gee Kennels of Southwest Washington.  Yes, it’s perfectly legal to use the Bee Gee name.  The only three dogs we’ve had have started with either a “B” or “G.”  We thought it fit great.

Here are a couple of pictures of the mommies.  The second mom is so cute I can’t stand it.  (Like yesterday, Blogger is still having problems uploading pictures.  It was tricky, but I made it work . . . scroll down)

APRIL FOOL‘S!!


(What kind of idiot do you people take me for?)

8 responses to “The BIG Change

  1. BeaKeeper says:

    man…. I and was the one who guessed the dog was pregnant!

  2. Trayc says:

    As soon as I read "we've pre-purchased…beagles…" I KNEW you were Foolin'! However, you write a very good story! 🙂

  3. Bev says:

    I'm reading along, thinking 'huh, I guess I don't really know her that well. I'd swear that dog made her crazy.' Good to know I'm not a complete idiot! Dog breeding… uh huh.

  4. Kinley's Mom says:

    You had me going…I'm just not an April Fools person, so I always forget.I have to admit I was pretty shocked, but you can be convincing.

  5. becc says:

    ha! you totally got me! although I was thinking…really? BEAGLES??? lol

  6. Davida says:

    Good one, Cheri. I was thinking, "She is out of her mind!" and "I wonder how long THAT will last!" I TOTALLY FELL FOR IT. But I am queen of gullible sometimes (usually). 🙂

  7. Katy says:

    Cheri… you totally had me going… I was wanting to see cute beagles… but…. well… ya got me. I heart you too!

  8. Stephani says:

    Ugh! I totally fell for it! Good one! I questioned it at first, but you made it sound so believable by the end I was really expecting to see a photo of a beagle! LOL

Leave a Reply

