The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Big Promises

on April 5, 2010

Since my last NaBloPoMo In June ’09, my mom died.  To say it was a soul crushing loss is an understatement.  My mom was one of my very best friends.  One of the few people on earth that I could spend all day with and still not want to leave.  I know for these last 7 1/2 months, she has everything I ever wanted for her on this earth.  No pain from arthritis.  To be free from her insecurities.  To find peace in Christ.  And while part of me is so happy that she’s in heaven, part of me still misses her very, very much.

Recently a dear friend of mine had a soul crushing death in her family.  I don’t live close enough to her to take her out to coffee, give her a hug and tell her what I’ve learned through the grieving process . . . . grief promises, if you will.  I wish when I was fresh in my grief, someone would have taken the time to tell me this.  So, Michelle, this is from my heart to yours.

Promises

You won’t cry yourself to sleep for the rest of your life

You will eventually be able to think about something other than your grief

You don’t have to jump back into normal life until you’re ready

You will have very bad and very good days

The good days will soon begin to be the norm again

You will find a compassion and sympathy you never knew you had

Chances are you are not the next one in line to have something awful happen to

You will get over the fear of losing everyone you love

Your life will not end up being some tragic footnote (Okay, maybe this was only something I worried about)

But most of all . . . . . . I promise God will heal your heart

Leave a Reply

