The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Hymned

on April 6, 2010

Around the insane asylum, we usually listen to contemporary Christian music.  And that’s what our church plays during the worship time.  My kids really have no idea what a lot of the traditional hymns even are.  They probably know Amazing Grace and Jesus Loves Me.  Unless a 2010 artist has updated a hymn, they don’t know it.

Sometimes it makes me sad that they don’t know any of the old standards.  But since moving here, we’ve made a practice of purposefully trying to not have our kids view church as “that thing old people do.”  We want it to be relevant and real to them.  And trust me, any teen/pre-teen would probably rather sing David Crowder during a worship time instead of Martin Luther (yes, he wrote “A Mighty Fortress is Our God.”)  I really do get it.

We were in the car a few weeks back and listening to a Sunday morning worship time on a radio station.  Okay, we weren’t listening.  I was flipping from the other two Christian stations that were nothing but talky talky when they should have been playing music!  Anyhoo, the station I landed on happened to be playing “‘Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus.”  I told the kids that they could protest all they wanted but I was going to listen to the whole song.

Is there any sweeter melody than that of, “Jesus, Jesus how I trust Him/How I’ve proved him o’er and o’er/Jesus, Jesus precious Jesus/O for grace to trust Him more?”

That song got me thinking of others I had sung for so many years.  And I’ve pretty much been singing them non-stop since then.  It’s funny how many memories they evoke.  And I get a little sad that my kids won’t have the same memories.

But then I remember . . . . .they’ll have the same sorts of feelings, only their feelings will be evoked by songs like David Crowder’s “You Are Holy,” Chris Tomlin’s “Sing, Sing, Sing” and the Newsboy’s “He Reigns.”  Which is good.  And truth be told, I do enjoy the newer stuff better.

So is lightning going to strike me now?

One response to “Hymned

  1. Harriet says:

    MUSIC! HYMNS! MODERN WORSHIP MUSIC! Wow. Did you touch a good point here. I am the “music director” in our little church here in Mexico, which consists of a lot of “old retired folks” and some younger wind-surfer types, and some even younger ones with young children. I pick the music every week, and EVERY week, I try to have at least one familiar hymn included. I just love the words and content, and many have such beautiful themes! I also love songs by Stuart Townend from UK, who wrote “In Christ Alone”, “There is a Hope” and “Beautiful Savior”, among others. His songs tell a story and wonderful truths. This week we’re doing one I just discovered by Mark Altrogge, written in ’88, “In the Presence”. Wonderful content. I prefer songs that tell us something, instead of repeating the same 10 words over and over. Oh, and an easy to sing tune is nice for our group, too!

    For your kids education, I think you should get a couple CD’s that have Hymns that transition to a more modern worship song. There are a lot of them out there. It would be a shame for them to miss out on so many beautiful hymns!

Leave a Reply

