The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Big Reality Show Confessions

on April 12, 2010

My name is Cheri and I watch reality t.v.  Not all of it, but a lot.  Obviously, I have my standards – shows like “The Bachelor” and “Rock of Love” will never, ever grace my t.v. screen.  I mean, ick, they’re basically soft p*rn.  How do I know if I don’t watch?  Well, I do watch “The Soup” and I see clips from the shows (and those like it) on there.  Double ick.

One of my favorite authors is Jen Lancaster.  I discovered her last fall when my life was in desperate need of serious humor.  And boy did she deliver.  She’s not an author you’d probably think I’d read.  She’s foul mouthed and drops the f-bomb whenever she sees fit.  One the flip side, she refuses to talk about s-e-x.  Or b-r-e-a-s-t-s.  Or anything remotely related.  So I can stand a truckload of few bad words here and there as long as all forms of debauchery and lusty living are not part of the mix.

Jen has a new book coming out in May, “My Fair Lazy.”  In it she will chronicle how she broke up with reality t.v.  But she explains it so much better than I do.  Watch and see.

So, because I can no longer find anymore worthless blather to blather about, here is my list of reality shows I currently watch or have watched in the past.

Survivor

American Idol

Dancing with the Stars

The Swan (I felt like I needed to shower after each episode)

Breaking Bonaduce

Celebrity Rehab

Sober House (where the d-list celebrities go after Celebrity Rehab)

My Fair Brady (don’t judge . . . . if Peter weren’t such a jerk he’d still be kinda hot)

Project Runway

Models of the Runway

Wife Swap

Trading Spouses

Supernanny

Nanny 911

The Osbournes (never missed an episode)

The Newlyweds (Nick Lashey and Jessica Simpson)

Undercover Boss

The Real Wold (years ago and only one season)

The Biggest Loser

The Amazing Race

The Apprentice

The Celebrity Apprentice

Jon & Kate + 8

Little People, Big World

Cake Boss

17 Kids and Counting

18 Kids and Counting

19 Kids and Counting

Airline

American Chopper

American Inventors

The Anna Nicole Show (major morbid curiosity going on with this one)

The Baby Borrowers

Grease: You’re the One That I Want

Growing Up Gotti

I Survived a Japanese Game Show

Wipeout

Whew.  I had actually forgotten a lot of these, so I have to thank RealityTVWorld.com for jarring my memory!

On second thought . . . . . that’s a LOT of t.v!

3 responses to “Big Reality Show Confessions

  1. Dawn says:

    Okay, Cheri, I just HAVE to ask…you watch My Fair Brady…but not the Surreal life – where they actually met? You’d understand why he was a jerk…kind of. 😦 I can’t believe I even know this…except I LOVE reality tv. 🙂 And I love your blog! You make me laugh and smile every time I read one!

  2. lacochran says:

    Wow! Impressive list. I will not miss Biggest Loser. Won’t do it. Don’t ask me.

    And thanks for the tip on Jen Lancaster. She’s a hoot! I’m going to have to find some of her books. 🙂

  3. Melissa says:

    17, 18, 19 kids to funny. I miss Boston Rob!

Leave a Reply

