The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

My Favorite Salad

on April 28, 2010

Here is a recipe for my most favorite salad ever.  And if you accidentally glop too much dressing in (like I did today) take heart!!  It’s fat free.

What you’ll need:

Lettuce (I like to use a romaine and spinach combo)

Baked chicken

2 pineapple rings

2 green onions

Salad dressing (to be revealed later so your anticipation can build)

First I start out by grilling the pineapple and green onion (have I ever mentioned how much I love my cast iron grill pan?):

I almost never just grill two pineapple slices.  Austin always wants some and I’ll show you what he does with his at the end of the blog.

After the grilling is done, chop up the grilled items:

The kitchen shears above are the newest from Pampered Chef.  Easily the greatest kitchen shears I’ve ever had.

I try to have grilled chicken on hand at all times to throw into recipes and to snack on here and there.  I can’t recommend Montreal Chicken Seasoning strongly enough!!

Put all the above ingredients into a big bowl (you’ll want plenty of the salad, trust me) plus the lettuce.  Then add the pièce de résistance of the whole meal.  I humbly offer you Litehouse Toasted Sesame Ginger dressing (and all heaven and earth rejoiced):

Your result will look something like this.  But I promise it won’t last for long:

Here’s what Austin does with his grilled pineapple (because he has the metabolism of, oh, say a 14 year old boy!):

He likes to put in a scoop of mango ice cream.  He also told me that one year at church camp they roasted marshmallows with a chunk of pineapple on the skewer, too.  He said it’s delicious.  I can’t wait to try it this summer!

3 responses to “My Favorite Salad

  1. MeriAnne says:

    Yummm.. That is one of my favorite dressings. They used to make a light version, but I have not been able to find it in quite some time.

  2. cheriberi says:

    I think they just took the “light” off the label and replaced it with “Balanced Options.” There are only 40 calories and 0 fat per 2 tablespoon serving 🙂

  3. Harriet says:

    Hmmmmmm…. I can’t find that particular dressing in Chapito’s or Fayla’s grocery stores here in Los Barriles. I guess I’ll have to wait until this summer to make this salad. Looks scrumptious!

    Oooo…oooo…oooo!!! And I like Austin’s recipe, too. Even fresh mangoes, which are becoming plentiful here right now, would be wonderful. Yum.

Leave a Reply

