The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Finishing with a fizzle

on May 2, 2010

Yeah, with that whole NaBloPoMo I didn’t even bother to post on the last day of the month.  I’m a winner!!  Anyway, I only missed two days out of the whole month which gives me a 93.3333333333333333333333% average and I’ll take that any day.  And I won’t bore you with the details on why I was so stinking exhausted on Friday the 30th and didn’t post.

But one truly remarkable and wonderful thing did happen on Friday.  Without giving away too many details that would embarrass my son to the point of anger with his mother, I found out that he does have a very soft and loving side.  A side that encourages people, cares deeply for people and tells them he’ll pray for them.  He has gained the respect of adults and even softened a few skeptical hearts in the process.

I don’t get to see this side of him very often, if at all.  Which is fine.  He’s too busy asserting his masculinity around me and working with all his might to make the natural break from his mother.  I get it . . . . . . I understand the natural order of things.  And I’m not upset that I’m not the one he’s saying, “It’ll be okay.  I’ll pray for you.”

I’m just happy that side of him is there at all.  As parents of children who still live at home, we see it all.  We see the good and the bad.  The sweet and the ugly.  The kind and the rude.  And when your child is 14, sometimes the negative behavior outweighs the positive at home.  At least it does in your mind.  And when you homeschool??  Gah!

The below picture is of a recent hike we took.  Austin spent most of it in front of us, blazing is own trail, making his own discoveries, and telling us all about it.  But he also asked Amber and I which direction we wanted to go, he hung back when we couldn’t keep up with him (do you know how hard it is to keep up with a 14 year old boy who is in extremely good shape??) and he shared what he saw.   Pretty much how is real life is right now.  And I love every minute of it.

One response to “Finishing with a fizzle

  1. Basking in your insights says:

    You really could write that in a book, and people would pay to read it….it’s that good.

Leave a Reply

