The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

In which Tyler gets the girl

on May 3, 2010

Imagine if you will, May 3, 1992.  Tyler had bangs, I had not yet felt it necessary to wax my eyebrows and grunge was beginning to reign supreme (this will explain my clothing choice).

Tyler and I had been talking about marriage for a while.  Because as of May 3, we had been dating about 2 1/2 months.  Yeah.  Let that sink in for a minute.  Tyler had already talked to my parents.  I seem to remember him saying something along these lines to my dad, “I’m not really asking your permission, but I am asking for your blessing.”  For some reason, Dad didn’t punch Tyler and gave us his and Mom’s blessing.  And told Tyler that I wouldn’t be as easy to live with as my mother.  And since Tyler had never lived with my mother this warning made perfect sense.

We had the blessing of my parents so someone just needed to ask the question.  I had told him that I wanted to be asked in front of a group of people.  Why?  I don’t know.  I’d probably be happy with one of those super tacky proposals on a JumboTron at a professional sporting event.  And I wouldn’t think it was tacky at all – I’d think it was magical.

We were at a Bible study that we went to and I was dressed in ghetto sweats (you know, the ones with elastic around the ankles) and an old t-shirt.  This would be where the grunge thing would explain my fashion sense – or lack thereof.  Tyler and I sat on the floor for the whole meeting and he was so incredibly jittery and nervous.  He’d go from being normal to being giggly, to trying to hug me, to laughing, to taking one of my fingers and trying to make me pick his nose.  Yes ladies.  He’s all mine.  (By the way, we were both 22 at the time and hadn’t become the visions of class and sophistication we are now.)  (Quit laughing.)  All I could think was, “What is his problem??”  I was clueless.

I am seldom clueless.

(Except when it comes to remembering what table to move to in Bunco after I lose or win a match.  Yeah, clueless would perfectly describe me at that point.)

At the end of the class, the leader said Tyler had an announcement to make.  I was still clueless.  When he stood up and motioned for me to stand up, too, I knew what was going on.  I honestly don’t remember 95% of what he said.  Something about him loving God and loving me.  He must’ve asked me to marry him because I do remember saying yes.  It was nice because we had a lot of friends there and his parents were there as well.  I’m not a super private person so having people around was not a big deal at all.

Afterward we went to dinner with our “College & Career” Sunday school class from church. In front of the singles department was where we announced our engagement.  Most of whom were bitter about being single.*  And at least two girls who were hoping I would some day be part of Tyler’s past.  And then we proceeded to share a milkshake and giggle.

Because we’re visions of class and sophistication.

*At least the class leaders, who were married to each other, were very, very happy for us 🙂

3 responses to “In which Tyler gets the girl

  1. Ima Lucky Dog says:

    Takes me back and puts a smile on my heart all over again! Thanks for putting it on ‘paper’ like no one else can. (Sniff, sniff)

  2. He’s still giggly… 😉

  3. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

