The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Savoring the years

on May 19, 2010

In just 8 school days, I will have finished my ninth year of homeschooling.   Here’s a timeline of the last nine years:

Year 1 – Sucked

Year 2 – Sucked even more

Year 3 – More sucking as we have another unhappy student join our ranks.  At one point I even recorded how bad one of the children was so their father could see what I went through daily.  There was a huge “come to Jesus” moment for one student and that student shaped up somewhat.

Year 4 – Still sucking along.

Year 5 – Why am I doing this to us?

Year 6 – One of us will probably be dead before Christmas.

Year 7 – Considerably less sucky.

Year 8 – (Dare I say wonderful?)

Year 9 – Hundred fold blessings that I can’t even begin to count.  Desperately hoping student #1 decides against going to public high school and stays home.

Which he does.

Which made his mom cry.

What if I had given up when things got bad?  And by bad I mean horrendous.  One of the kid’s attitudes was so bad at one point that I had to do “RAT” (Remedial Attitude Training) for an entire summer.  Got the kid whipped into shape and I didn’t start the school year in utter defeat or hopelessness.

I am so glad I stuck with it and didn’t miss the blessings.  Trust me, homeschooling is just as much about the parents as it is the kids.  I have learned so much over the years . . . . how to not come unglued when a bad grade is earned, patience, showing mercy, but most of all realizing that education is not nearly as important as my kids’ relationship with Christ and the content of their character.  I’m so thankful that when things were at their lowest, I didn’t give up because it was too much for ME.

Because despite how much it sucked, I would go through it all again to get where we are now.

Leave a Reply

