The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

They got it from ME?

on May 21, 2010

I went to the doctor today for my yearly check up and if you’re my Facebook friend, you know that the nurse was all to happy to tell me that I’m not shrinking.  Because obviously being 40 years old makes my bones frail.  Whatever.  On to the real purpose of this post.

I am apparently sick but I feel great.  My doctor looked in my ears and said, “Oh my gosh!  Do your ears hurt?  They’re all infected.”  Then she proceeded to prescribe me horse pill sized antibiotics so it must be kind of bad.  Which reminded me . . . .

When the kids, especially Austin, were small and would get ear infections, their ears would never hurt until it was bad. And by bad I mean screaming-by-Mom’s-side-of-the-bed-at-3:00 a.m. until I had no recourse but to go to the emergency room.  And it did happen a few times during the day.  Inevitably when the doctors looked in the kids ears, their eyes would get really big and they always asked me the same question.  “Is this the first time they’ve complained about their ears hurting?”  To which I would reply, “No, but I always ignore the kids when they tell me their ears hurt because it interferes with my Jack Daniel’s swilling, Marlboro smoking, bon bon eating, Jerry Springer watching afternoons. Yes.”

Who knows?  Maybe they got their high ear pain threshold from me.  Yes, me . . . . .the world’s biggest pain wimp.  The only issue I have with tattoos is the fact that pain is involved.  But maybe now I’ve found the one thing that I can actually stand.  Ear pain.

Leave a Reply

