The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

on June 5, 2010

As you see, there’s no title for this post.  I seriously have no clue what to title it.  I’m, like, in shock.   Kids and their antics do that to you.

Tonight was Austin’s first night of high school youth group.  He’s been waiting for this night for a long time and I was so happy for him.   There was a barbecue for them after youth group tonight  – at one point I just called after him and said, “Uh, call me when you’re ready to come home.”

He called later this evening and I assumed he wanted to come home.  Instead, he informed  me he’s in another state.  Granted, said state is about six miles from my house, but still.  He’s with one of the leaders at a Yocream shop.  In Portland, Oregon.  THANKFULLY he’s with a leader I’ve known for a few years and I trust him.  He didn’t need directions to our house because apparently all 20 year olds have iPhones and they can just look up the directions on those.

When I told Amber what was going on she said, “I can’t wait until I’M in high school!”

A bit later, Austin called again.  He was wanting to go over to another leader’s house and watch a documentary (yeah, I really believed that one).  Again, I know these boys and I trust them.  He assured me one of the boys would have him home by midnight.  I told him it was okay (he even managed to thank me verbally) but I’d be waiting up for him.

Wow.  That came at me fast.  I didn’t think high school would happen THIS fast.  We’ve been done with school for barely 48 hours.  He’s been a 9th grader for the same amount of time.  I was supposed to get eased into the life of a high schooler.  BUT my son has never let me ease into anything in his life.  His birth baptized me with fire and I haven’t been the same since.

These next four years are going to be very interesting!

Leave a Reply

