The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

She’s tough as nails

on June 10, 2010

She doesn’t look that tough, but trust me, she is.

Last week she went to track practice and it started raining.  And it rained harder and harder and harder.  But do you think she quit?  Nope.  She didn’t blink, complain or even glace over at me with surrender in her eyes.

Despite the rain, she ran sprints, got her prized running shoes filthy landing in the sand for the long jump, and threw the TurboJav (much safer version of the javelin).  I could see the determination not to give up from the bleachers.  Which were covered.  So I didn’t have to get wet.  Which really is the point for me.

When practice was over she was cold and wet, but not miserable.  I told her she was a stud and I was so proud of her for not giving up.  She just kind of shrugged it off when I said it, but I could see how satisfied she was with herself.

And she should have been.

Leave a Reply

