The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Toy Story: Destroyer of VCR’s

on June 16, 2010

Ahhhh, another memory in the Toy Story saga of our lives.

We had (okay, have) a t.v. that was combined with a vcr.  Almost exactly like this little beauty:  Yes we still have it.  We have a dvd player hooked up to it and we don’t watch vhs movies anymore.  It’s in our bedroom and the kids can’t believe we watch t.v. on such a small, inadequate and outdated box.  Oh well.  They used to, too.

In this story Amber is very small.  She called the movie, “Toy Tory.”  S’s weren’t exactly her strong point for quite a few years.  Anyway, she was very adamant about watching the movie one day.  As soon as I put the movie in, the whole tv shut down.  Just a small hiccup – this wasn’t the first time it happened and I could usually get it up and running again.  But not this time.  Amber started wailing for Toy Tory at the top of her scrawny, yet powerful little lungs.  A cold sweat broke out on my brow.  I tried and tried to get the stupid movie out (a screwdriver may or may not have been involved) with absolutely no luck.

I somehow appeased Amber with something else and the next day we took the tv to the repair shop.  I thought the fix would be simple.  Of course it wasn’t!  It took a week to fix and at one point someone called me and told me the movie could not be salvaged.  Toy Story had to give up its life so the tv could live.  Again, I broke out in a cold sweat.  No movie?  No Toy Tory to babysit the kids so I didn’t have to listen to their constant screaming all day?  How could Toy Story be so selfish?  Couldn’t it have fought harder to live?  Couldn’t it have given this poor mom a break?

At some point in the hysteria, I realized I could just go to the store and buy a new movie. Which I did.

Don’t judge me.  I had a hyperactive 4 year old and Toy Tory crazed almost 2 year old.  You wouldn’t be thinking straight either.  Within an hour, Toy Story was back in the house.  I think I saw a glimmer of a tear as I plugged it in.

The kids were happy, too.

2 responses to “Toy Story: Destroyer of VCR’s

  1. MeriAnne says:

    I still remember taking my nephew who was 3 or 4 at that time to see Toy Story in the theater. A big undertaking outing for a very hyper kid. I didn’t think we would make it very far into the movie… then about 1/2 way through I thought he had fallen asleep because he hadn’t moved or wiggled or talked in what seemed forever. Then I looked at him closely and his eyes were glued to the screen. He was wide awake and taking in every second of that movie. He talked about it for months after that.

    Doubt I could now get the 18 year old to accompany me to the new release of Toy Story, but oh well I will always savor that moment in time.

  2. Melissa Griffin says:

    Big TS fans here too. Plenty of TS paraphernalia still around. In fact I have a Woody hoody that all my kids wore at some point in their toddler years still hanging up in my closet that I couldn’t bear to part with. The Woody slump is hilarious!

Leave a Reply

