The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

The class I’d never teach

on June 29, 2010

Yep.  That one.  That one right there.  Club 45 . . . . . I said I’d never teach it.  And especially not on Saturday nights at 5:00.  I mean, come on!

Club 45 is our church’s Sunday school class for 4th and 5th graders.  Since we have services on Saturday nights and Sundays, it’s kind to hard to call them all Sunday school.  So they come up with these clever names.

Around the time Austin was in 5th grade, I started substituting in the class on Saturday nights.  Not a bunch, but I really loved it.  The problem with teaching the 5:00 p.m. class was that it was (and continues to be) so huge.  We have two services on Saturday nights and the 5:00 one is SO popular.

There was no way I could deal with all those kids.  All the noise.  All the craziness.  All the, well, you get it.  But you my readers are very smart.  You know what happened.  I ended up teaching the class.  For two years.

And it was the two of the greatest years of my life.  I loved every second of teaching those kids.  Only once did I think I was going to cry . . . . I had 42 kids and no helpers.  It was the first weekend after school started and the kids were more hyper than usual.  That was a bad, bad night that I probably shouldn’t think about too much.

The class helped me “get out of my own head” when my mom was so sick.  The class ministered more to me over the two years that I taught it.  I always said the class gave me more than I gave it and I still feel that way.  I quit teaching around the time my mom died.  I had known for months when I was going to quit; it wasn’t as if my mom’s death made me quit.  Nevertheless, it was just so sad to stop teaching during such a sad time.

All of that to say that life just works better when I listen to God.  He wanted me in the class I’d never teach for so many reasons.  Of that I’m sure.

Also, God redeemed the sadness for me.  Since quitting, I’ve had a chance to substitute a few times.  After my first time I realized maybe I don’t miss saying, “Sit down,” 29 times in an hour.  And since my daughter is about the same age as the kids I taught, I still keep up with most of them at church.  That has been so rewarding.  Seeing those timid 4th graders now heading to 7th grade is such a sweet experience.

2 responses to “The class I’d never teach

  1. Debbie says:

    That is so sweet! What a lovely remembrance – and how God used it to bless you and even comfort you.

  2. Maureen says:

    I told a woman friend that I would never date my future husband. Watch out what you say you will never do. We have been married 20 years. God has a way of giving you what you need, not what you want. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

