The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Humbled

on July 5, 2010

I was going to post about something really stupid.  As I was formulating my vapid, fluffy, incoherent thoughts I clicked over to The Pioneer Woman’s blog.  Ahhh, let’s face it.  We all love her and we all rushed out to buy her cookbook and we all have yet to make ONE recipe from said cookbook.

She had a photo contest this past week and the theme was America.  I looked through the winners and they were each spectacular in their own way.  But this one stopped me in my tracks:

[Photo Credit]

According to the photographer, Stacycasephotography, this was the last picture taken before the soldier went off to war.   One of the commenters on PW’s site said “this is the new American Gothic.”

It made me wonder.  Will this war define this generation like all previous wars have?  Probably. It also reminds me of The Who’s classic song, “My Generation.”

This past Independence Day made me reflect on how blessed we are to live in this country.  No matter what our political beliefs, no matter our race, our gender, our religion.  This is still the best place on earth to live in freedom.

And the fact that I live here, which I had nothing to do with in the first place, is humbling.

Leave a Reply

