The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Camp Surf Memories

on August 1, 2010

I got back in one piece from Camp Surf in Long Beach, WA.  I spent 5-ish days cooking for 350-ish people.  Yes.  You read that right.  So while I can only remember bits and pieces of things that happened that weren’t in the kitchen, I’ll put most of my memories in short, easy to read blurbs.

  • My typical day consisted of getting up at 6am, and working like a fool until 10:30pm.
  • They wonder why I’m not going back next year.
  • The taco meat we served was unforgivable.  UN-FOR-GIV-ABLE.
  • The morning after taco night, three toilets got clogged up.
  • I thought we should have written an apology to the bathrooms.
  • For one lunch, we made 400 grilled cheese sandwiches.  I was so filthy when that was over that I looked homeless.
  • By Thursday, my feet hurt so badly that even the skin on the bottom of my feet hurt.
  • Sleeping in a tent for five nights in a row isn’t as hellish as I thought it would be.
  • Being by myself for five nights in a row was heavenly.
  • My daughter spent far too much time talking to one boy in particular.
  • I may or may not have asked for the bullhorn so I could yell, “Amber, step away from the boy.”
  • I may or may not have said to no one in particular, “You can pry my daughter out of my cold, dead hands.”
  • I overheard a boy say, “McDonald’s should make a big, brown dessert and call it the ‘McTurd.'”
  • I told a group of people that I knew all the words to the theme song of Canada.
  • Apparently after hours and hours of slave-like labor, I forget that the correct term is “national anthem.”
  • Watching a boy puke all over the church after he tried (and failed) to drink two Sprites in under two minutes was not as shocking as you’d think it would be.
  • Cleaning up puke because a girl decided to skip lunch and dinner and instead feast on Pringles, gummy worms and Amp IS as shocking as you’d think it would be.
  • Trying to get another girl an icepack because she ran into a pole is hard to do without laughing.
  • This was in downtown Long Beach.  I may never be able to sleep without nightmares again.  And I’ll certainly never be able to think of mermaids and have happy thoughts.
  • I bought the cutest pink hoodie that proudly states “Long Beach, Washington.”
  • I have never been a fan of hoodies.  I am now.
  • I wore a big pin on my apron all week that said, “Don’t make me poison your food.”
  • Seeing a lot of 8th graders that I taught as 4th & 5th graders gave me more than one lump in my throat.
  • I told them that it was unfair that they are getting taller and better looking while I’m just getting more wrinkles and more gray hair.
  • I did not miss my dogs.
  • I did miss my husband and son.
  • My daughter virtually ignored me the whole week.  It was quite strange to be so close to her, yet not talk to her very often.
  • But I guess being seen as the girl who runs to mommy 24/7 would be pretty bad for her rep.

And that’s about it.  As I’ll remember more, I’ll post it.  It was a pretty funny week all in all.  And a very rewarding week.  I never thought I’d get to the point that I enjoyed being around middle schoolers.  But ya know what?  God must still be in the business of miracles because I loved every second of being around those kids.

I just wish they didn’t need to eat so much.

7 responses to “Camp Surf Memories

  1. Maureen says:

    I love reading your stuff lady!

  2. Christina says:

    Oh you kill me……..Mc Turd LOL!!!

  3. Michelle A says:

    I just got home froms 2 1/2 days with thirteen 6-12 year olds in my cabin. Those 2 1/2 days felt like 5. I am trying to imagine how long yours felt. I despised and loved them at the same time; one a little more than the other at times.

  4. Debbie says:

    I’m laughing OUT LOUD over most of this. How well I remember camp days – but being a camp worker – PHENOMENAL (except for the puke cleanup…) I LOVE your pin – I think every mom should have one… Thanks for sharing your good time.

  5. Meghan says:

    Hey! I’m coming over from Hip Homeschool Hop. Thanks for linking up with us. I am now a follower and cannot wait to get to know you/your blog better.

    Each week we’ll have a new link up with giveaways too!

    Meghan
    http://www.facebook.com/hiphomeschoolmoms
    @hiphmschoolmoms
    http://www.thetuckerstaketennessee.com

  6. Sue says:

    That list was sooooo much better than a slide show! – LOL I’m convinced that every mother needs to keep a bullhorn in her purse from now on. 😉

    Thanks for joining the Hip Homeschool Hop today.

    Blessings,
    Sue
    The Homeschool Chick

  7. Lisa~ says:

    You are hilarious! I am enjoying reading through your list for a second time. Lisa~

Leave a Reply

