The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Dance Revolution

on August 3, 2010

I just found this picture today and can you guess which one is me?  If you’ve known me for more than about 15 minutes, you won’t have a hard time figuring it out.  I can make a few assumptions from this picture, even though I honestly don’t remember it.  Or the dance we showcased.  Or who the girl in the middle of the back row is.

First off, I generally remember myself as a quiet, shy, mellow girl.  Apparently, I was so excited about the Patricia Harris School of Dance’s spring recital that I couldn’t contain myself.   I was selling “Before the Parade Passes By.”  Selling it!  Look at those outstretched arms!  Look at those eyebrows (that surprisingly didn’t need waxed)!  The only reason I know the name of the number we did is because I wrote it – in BIG letters – on the back of the picture.

Let’s look at the costumes, if we must.  Hmmmmm . . . . I have a sneaking suspicion that my mom made these.  Please tell me they weren’t in a catalog and mass marketed.  Those white bows. I don’t have words.  I do remember being so jealous of the girl on the right hand side with the tap shoes that had heels.  Maybe I was overexcited at the fact that I would be able to get those very same heels the next year.  But then we moved.  And I had to quit dance because the Christian school I went to thought dancing was sinful. Don’t get me started on that one.

I also remember hating tap dance class.  I loved ballet, but for some reason, my mother forced me to take tap as well.  Either I didn’t hate it as much as I thought I did or I was high.  High on life.  Or high on the sugar rush from the piles of cookies they had backstage.

It appears that I have a bun in my hair.  I remember one of the older ballet girls telling us that we should dilute Elmer’s glue with water and it would make our hair stay in place and our bun not fall out.  My mom wouldn’t let me do it.   Of course the only other option back then was my dad’s jar of  “Dippity Do” hair gel.  Or six layers of Aqua Net.  I’m thinking we went with the Aqua Net.

Maybe I was high on the fumes from the Aqua Net.  Either way, I was one excited little chickadee in the upper left hand corner.  And while this picture really did surprise me, I’m guessing none of my friends are all that surprised.  Or my poor husband who has had to deal with all that exuberance for the last 18 years.

2 responses to “Dance Revolution

  1. Debbie says:

    Oh what a GREAT picture. Isn’t that a fun memory? (We won’t talk about the school rules here…) You’d think there’s be some kind of class action lawsuit with all the Aqua Net that was used in the 80s…

  2. Amy Sue says:

    Oh Cheri! I love the picture and your exuberance. I think we would have been friends if I would have been around.

Leave a Reply

