The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Izzzzz ma birfday!

on August 5, 2010

Yes, today I am officially 41.  My daughter is shocked that I can be this old and still function.  Whatever.  When she turns 41 I’m going to call her and laugh and laugh and laugh.

Since it’s my birthday, I’m going to post some pictures of one of my favorite things – hydrangeas.  When I moved from Alaska, I vowed that the only flowers I would plant in my yards are flowers that cannont survive in Alaska.  My first purchase was two mophead hydrangeas.  These hydrangeas have suffered a lot.  One year I pruned them back too far and then accidentally spilled too much fertilizer the next spring.  I thought I killed them and was lamenting the fact because hydrangeas aren’t cheap.  They somehow pulled through that summer and have only gotten bigger and better in the last 5 years.

So here are my three of my four girls . . . .

I snapped these pictures last night.  I was trying to capture the way the evening sun was lighting up the flowers.  It was such a gorgeous night.

My pink girls are so vibrant this year.  I haven’t fertilized them in the last 5 years since I over did it.

A blue one that has faded to a gorgeous lavender.

Microphylia . . . . I can’t remember the name of this one, but it has to do with French and Luna.

I am right now on a lovely little getaway provided my mother in law.  I’m sure I’ll have lots of embarrassing stories to share when I return.

One response to “Izzzzz ma birfday!

  1. Dawn says:

    I do so love hydrangeas, too! When we lived in McMinnville, my dad planted a TON of them. They remind me of Oregon…when I bought my first house in Idaho I planted them…but then we moved and I don’t have any. I need to change that!! 🙂 Thanks for reminding me! Oh, and happy birthday!!!!

Leave a Reply

