The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Mad

on August 9, 2010

I was going to post about our trip to Idaho, but I’m mad at the moment.  Not mad as in “I could punch someone in the face right now.”  Mad as in I’m sick to my stomach.  Someone (who shall remain nameless) put a very expensive something where the dog could get it.  Someone has been reminded over and over not to do this.  Someone has already suffered consequences from the dog getting it the first time.  Someone promises up and down that something was where the dog couldn’t get it.  Hmmmm . . . . magical flying beagle, anyone?

I found the something outside because obviously the beagle was feeling guilty and dropped it on the porch instead of devouring/maiming it beyond recognition.  Something might need to get fixed or replaced altogether.  We’ll find out soon enough.

I have shown Someone a great amount of grace today.  I haven’t complained about things I had to do for Someone.  Someone has irritated me over and over and I’ve managed to stay calm.  I guess I feel like I’ve given Someone 110% already today and then something ended up maybe ruined due to simple carelessness.

And this is where I must choose.  Do I heap shame on Someone by saying things like, “You never take care of anything!” (Which isn’t remotely true.)  Do I explode and yell, “Do you know how much this is going to cost us if they can’t fix it?”  Do I lecture endlessly about where something should have been?  Or, in the midst of laundry, running errands, shopping for soccer gear, and late night kitchen duties, do I somehow find it within myself to forgive?  Do I calmly explain why I’m disappointed and that I honestly can’t believe the magical flying beagle scenario?

I chose the latter . . . forgiving and reacting calmly.  It was hard.  I wanted to react the other way so badly that I nearly cried.  Sometimes overcoming ourselves is downright hard.  And that’s what I’m feeling tonight.

Just when I thought it couldn’t get worse, you’ll have to excuse me.  I need to go beat attend to the beagle who is laying ON A TABLE as if that’s normal behavior.  Not a coffee table.  Not an end table.  But a real table.

3 responses to “Mad

  1. BECC says:

    if he can’t fly, how’d he get on the table? sorry…really 😦 so frustrating

  2. Kristi says:

    Seriously, my dogs bring more opportunities for me to overcome my flesh than I can count. I can totally relate to every part of your situation and all I can say is I’m so proud of you and you made God’s heart swell with joy when you chose your reaction.

  3. MeriAnne says:

    Oh Cheri that reminds me of when I was in Jr High and somehow a circus elephant broke my brothers bed. Seriously we all saw the circus elephant jump on the bed a break it. I never understood why my parents didn’t believe the circus elephant story.

Leave a Reply

