The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

10 Year Homeschool Anniversary {and giveaway x 2!}

on September 6, 2010

**This giveaway is officially over!!**

Why homeschooling worked for us:

September 7, 2010.  Not only will I be homeschooling a high schooler for the first time ever, it will also be the 10 year anniversary of my homeschool journey.  It doesn’t even seem real.  I’m going to post this week on memories I’ve had, highlights, lowlights (and, oh, there have been lowlights), and things I’ve learned over this joyful journey.

Today’s post will be the answer to a question.  The question all homeschoolers invariably get, “Why did you decide to homeschool?”  I don’t just have one reason.  I didn’t feel God was pounding me over the head to homeschool.  In fact, I struggled with the decision for quite some time.  But in the end, I know we made the best choice for our family.

So, here are my reasons . . .not necessarily in the order of importance.

  1. Austin simply wasn’t built for school.  He was, for lack of a better term, a very hyper child.  Hyper-hyper if you will.  I knew the second he stepped into any sort of traditional school he’d be labeled ADD at best and a bad kid at worst.  I also knew he was neither of those things.  He could concentrate when he wanted to – on board games, on drawing, on anything that he liked.  I didn’t want to waste my time fighting with any school over his God created uniqueness.
  2. My hubby was in the early stages of his law enforcement career which meant no weekends off.  And he was working swing shift at the time, so Austin would have only seen him a couple evenings and a couple of mornings a week.  The thought of that was not exciting to me.
  3. Our neighborhood school stunk.
  4. We couldn’t afford private school (I went to Christian school and, shhhhhhhh, I don’t think it’s always all it’s cracked up to be).
  5. I knew #3 and #4 weren’t viable options for him anyway because of #1.

I remember before I had Austin, I always knew I wanted to homeschool.  Then I had him.  He did a number on me.  By the time he was three I knew there was no way he and I would survive homeschooling together.  And then God moved us to Eagle River, Alaska, just 1/2 mile away from an old friend of mine.  Who just happened to be successfully homeschooling her daughter and eager to do the same with her son.

I told her everything you hear, “I couldn’t do it . . .I don’t have the patience . . . I’ll end up seriously injuring him.”  She told me that the child he was at 3 wasn’t the child he was going to be at 5.  She told me to just keep an open mind.  Thank God that He plopped us down where he did.  I do remember a couple of years into my homeschool journey calling her and asking if there were any books about how to be more patient when you homeschool.  Bless her heart for not laughing in my face.

I’ll pick up tomorrow, but for now I know you’re dying to know about the giveaway.  I will pick two random winners who leave comments on this post and this post only.  The first giveaway is “The Busy Homeschool Mom’s Guide to Romance,” by Heidi St. John, whom I am blessed to call my friend.

And I just have to include another picture of Heidi . . . it’s my favorite.

The second giveaway is, “Lies Homeschool Moms Believe,” by Todd Wilson.  He’s not my friend, but I love the book and it helped me in so many ways.

To enter the giveaway ask me anything you’ve ever wanted to ask about homeschooling. I’ll answer any and ever question in a blog later this week.  If you don’t have any questions to ask, just leave a comment and you’ll be entered as well.  The deadline for entering is Friday, September 10 at 2:00 p.m. Pacific time.

Good luck and get to askin’ those questions.

24 responses to “10 Year Homeschool Anniversary {and giveaway x 2!}

  1. Laurie says:

    It’s always good to hear that we are all in the same boat. Definitely good days and bad days. I look forward to hearing more of your stories! 🙂

  2. Robin says:

    I can completely relate to your #1. Have a great year~ Your newest Follower from the Hop!

  3. Sherry says:

    My son has ADD tendencies. What have you found is most helpful for your son in terms of schooling to help him stay on task?

  4. Amy Steiner says:

    My question is where and how do Homeschool moms get their “curriculum”? My daughter is only 3 and I am just doing letters, colors, shapes, and numbers, but as she gets older, I am scared of not teaching her all she needs to know. 🙂

    Stopping by to say “Hi” from the Hip Homeschool Hop! Have a great day!

  5. BECC says:

    you have been an encouragement to me! Although I currently LIVE for the days my daughter goes to her 2-day a week preschool, I have always wanted to homeschool my kids. After she came along I thought that wasn’t going to be an option with her, but now I have hope….we are gonna play it by ear but I love learning all I can about homeschooling!

  6. Meghan says:

    Thanks for joining in The Hip Homeschool Hop today! LOVE your blog!

    Meghan
    http://www.thetuckerstaketennessee.com
    http://www.facebook.com/hiphomeschoolmoms

  7. Amy Sue says:

    What has been the hardest subject you’ve taught?
    I know my children are grown, but I do have grandchildren that may be home schooled one day and I know many home schooling moms.

  8. Anne Galivan says:

    I just HAVE to comment on this because the same thing happened to me (more or less).

    From the time my oldest (my only daughter) was two I knew I wanted to home-school. Then I met a mom at a Bible Study who was already home-schooling and she invited me to a support group’s park days, so before I was even “officially” home-schooling I was part of a support group.

    But when my daughter was 3 1/2 I had my oldest son (I have three boys now and just for reference my kids are: 26, 22, 16, and 8). My sweet little boy was a challenge with a capital “C”. Actually all of my boys have been “boys” – active, “hyper,” busy, non-sleepers…you get the idea. My youngest, that I had at 40, was especially difficult but, by the grace of God, I had trained the older ones so they were a HUGE help.

    At any rate, we decided to put my daughter in private school for kindergarten. It was a fairly positive experience: she got straight A’s and was her class “valedictorian.” But by the end of that year I had figured out that teaching a grade-schooler wasn’t rocket science and I could really put that money to better use. (And I agree, even private Christian schools can bring their own issues to deal with).

    One funny note, the friend I mentioned above that invited me to the park group? One day at park group, even after I had decided to put my daughter in private school, I was waxing eloquent about how wonderful home-schooling was when she looked at me and said, “You are a marked woman.” And I knew what she meant.

    I have since graduated two of my kids from home-schooling (they both have college degrees) and I am now entering my 21st year. I also have my own home-schooling website that I launched in May. I love home-schooling and don’t really know what to say when people say “I couldn’t do that!” as if home-schooling is, well, rocket science!

  9. Jennifer says:

    I want to repeat Amy Steiner’s question… it is exactly what I wanted to ask. I know you do a lot of research into your curriculum and I don’t really want to recreate the wheel if I don’t have to. 🙂

  10. Lisa~ says:

    I don’t have a question, but that isn’t to say that I know everything ‘cuz I surely don’t! I have homeschooled for many years and have graduated my oldest two. But I have many years to go and I would love to read those two books! Thanks for the giveaway. Lisa~

  11. LaVonne says:

    Do you ever worry that you won’t be doing enough for them? I have a 2 year old and I want to homeschool, I just don’t want to “mess up”.

  12. You really touched me when you said that you were feeling discouraged when your son was three. My son is three now, and even though we’ve always wanted to homeschool, I find myself questioning it because I don’t think there’s any way I’ll ever have the patience.

    I have so many questions! I hope that’s okay. 1) how much time do you spend daily teaching/instructing? 2) How much have you lost your patience?

  13. Kathy says:

    This is my 12th year homeschooling. I’m so thankful to have had this time with my children. My only question is will they succeed? I have to remind myself that success is often defined as a worldly wasy. I want them to succeed as being followers of Christ, but I can only do my part to lead them and trust the Lord to grow them. God is still growing my faith in Him in this way. I’m so thankful He is faithful!

  14. Valerie Harris says:

    I’m new to homeschooling, my oldest is 3. Do you have family support? and if you do … how do you use that to your benefit? I know that sounds like a no brainer, but not everyone has the same ideas we do ….

  15. What a great post. You answered the question similarly to how I answer it. I don’t have a question today. We’re starting 5th grade, 2nd grade, and pk and have always homeschooled. Yes, some days are easier than others!

    I really hope to win Todd Wilson’s book. I missed him at a conference not too long ago.

  16. bethelhome says:

    I love hearing moms who are ahead in the journey. My excuses were all the same ones you gave your friend. Now I don’t think we would ever go back.

  17. Christie says:

    What about time for yourself, away from kids?
    And what do you do as far as band, team sports, clubs, prom, etc?

  18. Great giveaway.

    I want to know HOW you get your kids to do their work? Do they complain?

    My daughter is 6 and complains every time I get the math or handwriting out. She just can’t sit still to do it.

  19. Carlee says:

    As a just starting out homeschool mom–beginning year #2–I am struggling to convince my 9 year old to show some enthusiasm for the subjects she is less fond of. We are dealing with her attitude in general, and are consistently disciplining her for eye rolls and failure to obey, but it is exhausting to have her balk at so many assignments (and they are fun and good…not repetitive or below her level). How do I help her gain some enthusiasm towards learning in general?

  20. alecia says:

    we are at a road block in our homeschooling, my daughter has shut down and refuses to do any sort of what she thinks is school work at this point, will this pass, will she enjoy to learn again. look forward to getting some advice from you. thanks!

  21. Amy E. says:

    My question is this – how did you deal with your doubts? I want to homeschool my girls (ages 4 and 1). Hubby is on board with it as long as we enroll them in a 1 or 2 day a week enrichment program. I have been doing “preschool” with my 4 yo at home all year and we love it, and I truly want to homeschool her – but sometimes I wonder if that is really what God wants us to do. No real reason for those doubts – is that just a normal part of being a new homeschool mom?

  22. Kirsten says:

    When homeschooling, how can one be sure their child is receiving enough social interaction from others their age? How does one even gauge when it is enough?

  23. Melissa Battles says:

    There have been some really good questions already asked and I really appreciate your answers.

Leave a Reply

