The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

All my life

on September 23, 2010

All my life I have thought/believed some pretty ridiculous things.  So I’m going to start a little series on some of the dumbest things I’ve thought.

The first has to do with Alice in Wonderland.  Riveting  and important stuff, eh?  I never really “got” the original movie, but just like every young kid, I had seen it numerous times.  Here is where the confusion begins.  I always, always, always thought that the white rabbit at the beginning of the movie was the SAME rabbit at the Mad Hatter’s tea party.  I know, I know, the white rabbit invades the tea party.  I guess I never paid that close of attention to it.

Now in retrospect, why I thought this guy . . . . . .

. . . .was also this guy . . . . .

. . . . is truly beyond me.  But it never mattered because I didn’t care so much about the movie.  I figured it was just one more thing about the strange movie that I didn’t get.

Fastforward to this past weekend.  My husband rented the Tim Burton version of “Alice in Wonderland.”  At the tea party scene in this movie, I finally decided to voice my confusion.  Because this guy . . . . .

. . . . in no way, shape or form resembles this guy . . . . .

Frustrated with not understanding it was two different rabbits for the entirety of my life, I blurted out, “What happened to that stupid rabbit?  Did he discover meth since he led Alice down the hole?”

My family: What are you talking about?

Me: He looks nothing like he did at the beginning.  Now he looks like a tweaker.

My family: {insert uproarious laughter here . . . . so uproarious that I can barely hear them explaining it to me}  Mom!! Cheri!! Are you kidding?  It’s not the same rabbit? { Hoo hoo ha ha hee hee, mom’s an idiot, bwahaha hee hee}.

Me: It’s not the same rabbit?  Is this some kind of joke?  I’ve though that my whole life.  No wonder I thought this movie was so stupid.

My family:  {The ha ha hee hee knee slapping fit still going strong}  Meth?  Who thinks of meth at a time like this? A rabbit on meth {ha ha hee – you get the picture}!!!!

So there you have it.  I will never, ever again confuse the two.

And I still think the second rabbit in the Burton version had a nasty addiction.  They were able to cover all his meth spots with CGI.

4 responses to “All my life

  1. Teresa Coy says:

    I knew there was a reason that I love you so much, until today I thought the same thing!! Thank you for clearing this up for me, love to see you next time we are in town, Teresa

  2. BECC says:

    oh, wordpress needs a like button 🙂
    love it – – and I can hardly wait for the next installment

  3. Caroline says:

    You are too funny. Tim Burton’s rabbit is VERY VERY SCARY!

  4. Lisa~ says:

    How funny! Last week my boys were measuring themselves and they ran to me and one asked, “Mommy! How high are you?” I knew they meant “tall” but I smiled and said, “Why, do I look like I’ve been smoking something?” They all stared. They had NO IDEA what this meant. One turned to the other and said, “I think Mommy must be feeling bad.” and they walked off. LOL! They would not have understood your meth comment either. Isn’t it funny when you homeschool how you don’t even realize how exposed your childhood was until you say something like that? Oh you’ve got me giggling! Lisa~

Leave a Reply

