The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Why I love Bill Clinton . . . and his wife!!

on October 14, 2010

I thought I’d get your attention right away.  Sorry if you spit your beverage on your keyboard.

A few years ago I was in a women’s small group.  It was around the time the Dixie Chicks said they were ashamed to be from the same state as George Bush (or something of the sort) while they were on tour in Europe.  At my small group, we were talking about the subsequent death threats they received.  I can’t remember exactly what we were talking about, but a lady said, “Aren’t we supposed to love each other?”  I don’t know if she was talking about the Dixie Chicks or the people threatening them.

What I do know is that one little sentence changed my life.

Of course I’d heard about the love Christians are supposed to have all of my life.  I’d read it in my Bible 30,000 times.  But something about that one, simple sentence rocked me to the core.

And it got me to thinking about the people I didn’t love.  And if I’m being perfectly honest, the people I hated.  I know that in some Christian circles, it’s okay to rail against political people who are on the “other side” of your political views.  It’s okay to make fun of them, okay to slander and denigrate them, okay to pass on e-mails that seem really bad, but point out that your viewpoint was right all along.  Quite frankly, in some circles, it’s perfectly acceptable to hate . . . . as long as it’s for the right reason.

I still remember where I was standing, what I was doing and what I was looking at when these thoughts were rolling through my head.  Then God broke through and I heard him whisper, “You’ve got to learn to love Bill Clinton . . . . . and his wife.”

I kid you not.

{To be continued tomorrow . . . . . }

 

 

One response to “Why I love Bill Clinton . . . and his wife!!

  1. Why I love Bill Clinton . . . and his wife!! « The Misadventures ……

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

