The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Bill Clinton, Part 2

on October 18, 2010

I realize I didn’t update this post like I said I would. Oops.  I’ve been crazy busy getting ready for our trip to Disneyland.  In fact, I’m writing this somewhere between the moon and LAX.

Like I said, I truly felt God speaking to my heart.  Telling this raging Christian republican that I needed to learn to love Bill and Hilary Clinton.  In fact, I needed to love everyone who didn’t share my political viewpoint.  But I needed to start with those two.  I needed to maybe make “raging Christian” the most important part of my life.

I wondered how in the world I was going to love these people.  Could I will myself to do it?  Did I need to start chanting to myself of a daily basis?  Did I need to write affirmations on sticky notes and post them all over my house?  Did I need a “learnin’ to love” accountability partner?  How was I going to do this?

I asked God just how He wanted me to go about this (read: how are You going to get me out of this mess You put me in?).  He said I was right where I needed to be – praying.  Pray for Him to increase my love.  Pray for Him to not cringe whenever Bill Clinton’s name was mentioned.

And it worked.  No fancy formula.  No “Learn to Love a Democrat in Five Easy Steps.”  Just simple prayer.  God was faithful.  Now when I see Bill Clinton on t.v. I think, “Awww.”  Kind of like an old Democrat grandma.

I’m still a raging republican.  I still disagree with most democratic politics.  But I’m learning to love everyone.  I’m trying to live out the love that the apostle writes about in I John.

This may seem simplistic and trite, but God did a major work in my heart.  Life is too short to hate the wrong things. I hate sin.  I hate what Satan puts this world through on a daily basis.  But I don’t hate people.  God just won’t let me.

Leave a Reply

