The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Unforseen Benefit

on December 29, 2010

I am 100% against texting while driving, so I just had to post this cartoon.

But I am 100% for my daughter texting me.  The rule in the house is that you can’t have a cell phone until you’re 13.  Which she is going to be in about 6 weeks.  We decided to go ahead and get her a phone for Christmas.  Actually, I decided and then talked Tyler into it.  Since she’s homeschooled, she doesn’t have all day to be with her friends at school.  I could tell it was taking a toll on her, and since a lot of her friends have cell phones, I decided she could stay in contact with them that way.

However.  I was completely unprepared for how much girls text.  Austin’s had a phone for a couple of years and he texts, but nothing, nothing like his sister.  She got the phone on Christmas Eve and was in full swing with her friends less than 24 hours later.

One benefit I didn’t foresee was how much she would text me.  Whenever she has a random thought she wants to share with me and we’re not together, she texts me.  She went to the movies today and saw that there is going to be a second “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” movie.  So she texted me.  She then went to Red Robin and they were playing Taylor Swift.  She had to text her joy over that.

I think in the two years Austin has had his phone, I’ve received around 10 or 12 texts from him.  They’re all along these lines: Are you done yet?  Are you still here?  Did you forget and leave me here?  Are you even reading your texts?

For the record, Austin has never been left anywhere!  So why he freaks out about it now is beyond me.  Okay, one time . . .ONE TIME . . .I forgot he was at Awana and might have forgotten to pick him up.  I couldn’t help it.  I was having a great conversation with my husband and his sister.  Time just got away from me (and so did the memory that I had a child out of the house).  I was only about 15 minutes late and the lady in charge was with him.  But that was about 6 1/2 years ago.

Suffice it to say, there is a huge difference in the way the kids text me.  And that’s fine.  Amber likes to text.  Austin likes me to watch movies with him.  I take what I can get and I love it all.

Leave a Reply

