The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

WFMW: Classics and Cuisine

on January 11, 2011

Well, at least I hope this works for me.  I’m changing the direction of my blog a little.  At least for the time being.  Or at least until I get bored.  Which could be by the end of this blog. We’ll see.

For the first part: Classics.  My in-laws were very generous with the doling out of Christmas cash this year, so I bought myself a Kindle.  For me, this is just an over the top, totally spoil yourself gift.  And something I would have never purchased with the money Tyler earns.   I mean, sheesh, it’s a bit extravagant.  {I have wanted one for a very long time.} Anyhoo, my goal this year is to use my Kindle to read classic literature.  A few years back I read “Anna Karenina” and I was blown away.  Yes, I did it as part of Oprah’s book club.  Last month when she said her newest selections were two classics from Dickens, I couldn’t resist.  Most of the copyrights on the older books have been released so they’re free to download.

I sort of missed the entire British and American literature titles when I was in high school and college.  I thought I was smart in high school, so I took the hulking World Lit.  Sure, I plugged away with authors like Camus, Voltaire, Euripides and other authors I can’t remember.  I am also permanently scarred from having to read “Siddartha” in a very short period of time.  None of it except for Euripides really struck me as great.  Then in college I did what all college students do – take all your courses based on the professor and the lack of homework he/she assigns.  Nothing really sunk in in this area during college.  But man did I have a lot of fun.

So far I am LOVING “A Tale of Two Cities.”  I had a difficult time getting into it, but once I read “as white as the tops of the waves that broke upon the neighbouring beach, or the specks of sail that glinted in the sunlight far at sea,” I was in love with Mr. Dickens.  Who writes like that??    I have a list of books I want to read this year – I can’t wait!

The second part: Cuisine.  I have been using E-mealz for a few months.  It’s a weekly dinner menu that is supposed to help you save money on groceries.  And I can say that it does.  I love, love, love E-mealz!  It’s something new for dinner every night.  I use the “Low Fat/Any Store” menu.  My husband is really picky about low fat food.  In other words, he can’t stand it.  He can’t believe the meals I make that are low fat; they really are that good. They have a huge array of menus you can choose from . . . regular, low carb, Weight Watchers Points, gluten free, and the list goes on.

I’m going to use my blog to discuss what I’m making, how it turned out, etc.  I won’t be posting any recipes . . . you’ll have to sign up yourself for that.

I’ll start tomorrow night.  I modified one of the recipes tonight and instead of taco pizza we had regular tacos.  I’m still dealing with a bit of picky eater issues, but nothing like when they were little.  And by “they” I only mean one of them.  And I will protect the identity of the guilty.

**Disclaimer: Neither Amazon nor E-Mealz know I exist.  I’m not receiving any type of compensation for anything I write here.  I blog about it because I use it and I love it!!**

5 responses to “WFMW: Classics and Cuisine

  1. Michelle A says:

    OMG! I took World Lit too! That is the class that made me hate English classes. Those books hurt my brain at 17! In college, I had no choice but to take some English classes and it was still hard. I would rather read to enjoy, not look at parallelism or symbolism. I am not that deep, which is probably why I went with science!

    • Dawn says:

      What I learn from Cheri: websites are AWESOME!!!! First you gave me 6pm.com and now e-mealz?!?!?! Ohhhhh I’m excited to try it out!!! I HATE HATE HATE trying to come up with our weekly menu so I can go shopping. UGH!
      On a separate note…I read Siddhartha with my World History class. I really enjoy it…but that’s just me…I can’t stand some of the others. To each his own, right?!?! 🙂
      You rock Ms. Cheri!!!!!!

    • Cheri-Beri says:

      I will never forget Mrs. Suzanne Bach as long as I live!!! What a World Lit. teacher. Jessica W. and I were the only ones in class who did our homework. She would have us separate the desks into two groups. Those who did the homework and those who didn’t. Jessica and I were always a group of two. We were supposed to discuss what we read and she and I would just shoot the breeze. Mrs. Bach didn’t care – lol.

  2. Michelle M says:

    Hummmm. A Kindle. It seem to remember a couple of conversations about that on Sunday nights. 😉

  3. Melanie says:

    I just signed up for E-Mealz yesterday!!! Do you love it? I’m not sure yet, but I think it will be a huge help and a good time-saver. I can’t wait to hear about your experiences!

    Blessings!
    Melanie

Leave a Reply

