The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Old Fashioned Pot Roast

on January 13, 2011

Before the veggies cooked down.

You can’t get much more American than pot roast and that was what was on the menu today from E-Mealz.  It did not disappoint.  I know, you might be wondering how anyone could mess up pot roast.  I don’t think I’ve ever cooked one wrong, but sometimes the spices recipes over the years have called for can be questionable.  Also, the older I get, the harder time my body has processing preservatives.  My mom had the same problem as she aged.  I can’t just throw an envelope of instant onion soup mix in with a pot roast without experiencing serious misery that evening.

The biggest difference in this roast than others I’ve made before is that you used beef broth instead of water.  I cannot emphasize enough using broth rather than water as much as you can.  I use Pacific Natural Foods organic broth because of the no preservatives issue.  I always have broth on hand, both chicken and beef.  It’s a staple!

The other difference was the fact that you added the veggies only 2 hours before the roast was done.  Obviously if you work outside of the home this isn’t an option for you.  I liked it because the potatoes (they really are in there) could be cut into smaller pieces and not be mush by the time the roast was done.

One of the ingredients the rub called for was black pepper and I substituted McCormick’s Peppercorn Medley Grinder.  You haven’t lived until you’ve tried this.  I found it by dumb luck.  My 15 year old son has a love affair with pepper and he puts it on everything.  I thought it would be funny to pick this up for him and put it in his stocking for Christmas.  I’m so glad I stumbled upon this one.  I looked at some other grinders today and none of them have the whole coriander and allspice this medley does.  Do yourself a favor and run out and buy it now.  Substitute it for black pepper in all your recipes – you won’t be disappointed!

The pot roast was great and even my picky kids gobbled it down!!

As far as my reading . . . . still plugging away at “A Tale of Two Cities.”  My Kindle tells me I’m 28% through the book.  Today I read how Monseigneur had to have four people make and serve his hot chocolate to him.  I laughed out loud.  And fell a little more in love with Charles Dickens.  I have had to consult SparkNotes at times because I just don’t understand some of the long winded narration.

And now, for some gratuitous beagle cuteness.

The floppy chin skin.  The fluffy lips.  The “I like to go outside and rustle up some action” paws.  The “I’m laying on an extension cord, but I’m so wiped out from all the rustling up action that I don’t feel it.”

Now you see why she had me at “hello.”
**Again, any product endorsed in this blog is purchased by me.  Except SparkNotes . . . it’s free.   None of the corporations know I exist.  I just tell ya because I love them!**

2 responses to “Old Fashioned Pot Roast

  1. becc says:

    Yum!! I did emealz for a while and probably will again. pot roast sounds so good right now! But Dickens doesn’t….you have a much larger brain than I do 🙂

  2. Michelle A says:

    Cool…but what is with the bag/plastic wrap??? Feel free to follow up with me tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

