The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

With a (choose your own word) C!!!

on January 20, 2011

I have blogged about the misery I endure with my last name, the worst of which was on the actual 9/11.  Generally, it’s the same 3 or 4 mistakes (okay, except for 9/11) over and over and over.  I sigh and get on with my life.  None of them are usually blog-worthy, but today I got a surprise.  Something happened that has never happened before.  And it really deserves its own post.

Like I said in the 9/11 blog, my last name sounds similar to “Shaver,” but it starts with a “C” and the first sound my name makes is with a hard “ch” like chair.  People who have known me for years and years still say it with a “sh” sound.  I just sigh and get on with my life.  One time our middle school youth pastor asked Austin how to truly pronounce my name.  Cheri Ch______ can be confusing.  The youth pastor told me Austin let out a big sigh and told him how to say it with a bit of irritation in his voice.  To which the youth pastor added, “I deserved his reaction.  I should have listened to you the first time you told me your name.”   Now that it’s as clear as mud, let’s move on to today.

I went to pick up a prescription at our pharmacy where most everyone knows me.  I noticed there was a new lady, so I tried to break her in gently to my last name.  I told her I was here to pick up a prescription for “Ch________ with a C.”  I am fully aware that 98% of the general population has never heard my name.  So she did what 98% of said population does and headed right for the “S” bin.  I said, with a smile on my face, “Excuse me?  It’s Ch_________ with a C.”  She looked right at me, said, “I know,” and did a swan dive back into the “S” bin.  THAT was a first.  I was speechless.  The lady in line behind me snorted and laughed.  I just stood there like a deer in headlights.

After becoming fully immersed in the bin, she jerked up and said, “You said C?”  Um, yeah, I did.

If I had any guts at all, I’d go back to my maiden name.

3 responses to “With a (choose your own word) C!!!

  1. Michelle A says:

    I am guilty as charged! I did not realize it was a hard CH! And honestly I avoid teaching K, 1st and 2nd because I am not good with phonics!!

  2. I dont think your name is weird at all I have heard much much worse..

  3. Kimberly says:

    ROFLOL, our last name begins with CH, and sounds like SH – sometimes we just pronounce it the French way so people ask how it sounds, but usually we just spell it and don’t say it – I used to make the mistake of saying it, but they would always go to that “S” bin no matter what I said afterward!

Leave a Reply

