The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Martha Stewart’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Icebox Cake

on June 20, 2011

{Okay, I seriously doubt The Martha came up with this recipe.  But it’s in her July issue of  Martha Stewart Living.}

After posting the picture of this cake on Facebook, I got a lot of requests for the recipe.  So here it is (don’t say I never did anything for you).  I will give my personal thoughts on the recipe at the end.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Base

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/4 teaspoon salt

2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature (I used salted butter.  I’m a rebel that way.)

1 1/2 cups packed light-brown sugar

3/4 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

12 ounces semisweet chocolate chips or chunks (2 cups)

Sift flour, baking soda and salt into a bowl.  Beat butter and sugars with a mixer on medium-high speed until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  On low speed, beat in eggs, 1 at a time.  Add flour mixture in 3 additions.  Beat in vanilla.  Mix in chocolate chips.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Scoop dough onto baking sheets using the measurements below.  Bake until edges are dark gold but centers are a pale gold and look a bit underdone (for chewy) or until centers are set (for crisp).

This recipe calls for cookies that are 2 1/4 inch.  I used my small Pampered Chef scoop and it worked just fine.  For this size of cookie, bake 14 – 16 minutes for a crisp cookie.  Makes 8 dozen.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Icebox Cake

4 cups cold heavy cream

8 ounces mascarpone cheese

2 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon whiskey (optional [I didn’t add this because kids were going to eat it])

8 dozen 2 1/4 inch chocolate cookies, baked until crisp.

1. Whisk 3 cups cream and the mascarpone in chilled bowl until soft peaks form.  Add sugar and whiskey.  Whisk until medium-stiff peaks form.  Refrigerate until ready to use (up to 3 hours).

2. Arrange 9 cookies in a circle (with cookies touching) on a cake stand or plate.  Place two cookies in the center.  Carefully spread 1 cup cream mixture evenly over cookies, leaving a slight border.  Repeat to form 7 more layers, ending with cookies (you’ll have cookies leftover).  Refrigerate, lightly draped with plastic wrap, overnight.

3. Whisk remaining cup cream until soft peaks form.  Spread over the top of cake just before serving.  Garnish with chocolate shavings.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My notes:

You absolutely have to cook the little cookies until crisp.  The cookies absorb the moisture from the creme mixture overnight and if your cookies are chewy, you’ll have a mushy- although delicious – mess on your hands.

Safeway did not have mascarpone cheese and I was in no mood to hunt it down elsewhere.  I used Philadelphia Cooking Creme Original.  I had no logic as to why to use it, I just thought it would work.  And it did.

However, the cream mixture was lacking some of the sweetness that mascarpone would have provided.  I added more sugar and vanilla until it tasted like I wanted it to.

I didn’t add the whipped cream layer on top the following morning.  I can’t imagine it could have made it taste better.

The verdict:

Oh my stinkin’ heck.  Unbelievably delicious.  Insanely good.  Five stars.  A+++.  I had no idea anything could taste this good.  And I’m not even a huge chocolate chip cookie fan.  People will think you are amazing for making this!  It’s obviously lighter than a traditional layer cake, but it slices well, it’s just kind of hard to get it from the cake plate to your plate and have it be nice and neat.  But after one bite, you won’t care what it looks like!

You’re welcome.

 

 

15 responses to “Martha Stewart’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Icebox Cake

  1. Now I have to make chocolate chip cookies, even if I don’t make this cake.

  2. Caroline says:

    Cheri, it looks amazing and I will be making it for my hubby soon…okay, who am I kidding, making it for me!

  3. Miki says:

    Did you have any trouble with the cookies? I didn’t get the full 8 dozen and I swear every pan came out differently, mostly flat and carmelized instead of puffed and pretty.

  4. free ipad 2 says:

    Terrific review! This is exactly the type of article that needs to be shared around the web. Shame on the search engines for not positioning this blog post higher!

  5. Renee says:

    I cant get my cream and mascarpone(cream chesse,1/8cwhipping cream 1/8c s cream) to stiffen..I T SAYS MED PEAKS.. It looks like a shake not peaks.. will it stiffen in refrig?? This is my 2nd batch.. Getting frustrated… HELP!!!

    • Cheri-Beri says:

      I think your cream to cream cheese ratio is off. The recipe calls for 3 c. whipping cream and 10 oz. marscapone – this is just about a 3:1 (cream to cheese) ratio. Also, I put the bowl I was whipping the mixture in in the freezer before whipping so it was really cold when I did it. Good luck!

  6. Kristin says:

    I thought this was way too sweet. I barely could eat it. Not sure if I did something wrong…

  7. kb says:

    I want to serve this on Friday – is two days in the fridge too long?

  8. elizabeth says:

    I made this cake over this past weekend for my nephews. It is out of this world. I was skeptical as far as it slicing like a cake…..but it does. It is delicious. I kept the leftovers for 3 t0 4 days also with no problem. That’s if you have any leftovers. I would highly recommend it. I also added the top layer right before serving it.

  9. Mary says:

    i was so curious about what it is… till I googled it and my jaw dropped to the floor! talk about fat galores! hahaha but i believe it’s an absolute heaven. definitely gonna bake it one day 🙂 thanks for inspiration!

  10. click here says:

    Cool post ! Thanks for, commenting on this blog mate. I shall message you some time! I didnt realise that.

  11. Barbara says:

    Mocha Chocolate Icebox Cake
    2010, Barefoot Contessa How Easy is That?, All Rights Reserved

  12. JENNIFER WARD says:

    CAN YOU JUST USE COOL WHIP INSTEAD

Leave a Reply

