The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Worn Out

on June 21, 2011

One of my friends on Facebook posted this video today:

 

Nothing in this world can make me feel more worn out than a Veggie Tales song.  The super fast lyrics, Larry’s voice (the others do it, too, but Larry’s voice is tattooed on my brain), the nonsensical words that are really funny.  Exhausted, I tell ya.

Why?  Because my kids were toddlers/preschoolers when the whole Veggie Tales fascination was full force in our house.  And those were weary-Mom days.  I had a little boy intent on establishing his dominance on a daily basis.  And a little girl who was, well, less intense than her brother.  Add to that a crazy busy life and a husband who wasn’t around much due to his work schedule.  Bone-numbing exhaustion.

I’ll tell you how bad the fatigue got.  And I promise this is not an exaggeration – I even sadly admitted it to my husband one particularly difficult day.  First, I’ll post a picture:

Those of you who are of a certain age will remember Larry in “The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything.”  Sadly, the release of this video happened during the time I thought goatees were pretty hot (Lord, forgive me).  I was so exhausted that Larry started looking pretty good to me.

I can’t believe I just typed that.

But what can I say?  It’s the honest truth about how “close to the edge” I was during that phase of my and the children’s life.  Thank goodness that chapter is closed.  Had it not, Lord only knows where my mind would have gone with Scooby-Doo’s Shaggy and his facial hair . . . .

Leave a Reply

