The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Drumroll please . . . . . the big secret revealed

on June 22, 2011

{You have to whisper the word “revealed” to get the full effect.}

{Okay, not really.}

Alrighty.  HERE is the big secret I’ve been torturing my friends with over the last few weeks.  I promise, no one has been more tortured than I have been.  I do think I ended up telling a total of 5 or 6 people.  But they were vetted for their trustworthiness and if they didn’t live in the state – well, that was a huge bonus.  Also if there was no way they would have any contact with the surprisee, especially on Facebook, that was a plus, too.

My son has a “special friend.”  It’s the only way I can describe her since neither one of them are allowed to date.  M is a wonderful girl and I’ll post more about this whole ordeal and how it kind of threw me for a loop tomorrow.  M’s mother is Colombian.  For the past 7 weeks M, her mother and sister have been visiting family and friends in Ecuador and Colombia.  Here’s where it gets good.  The whole time they have been in South America, M’s dad has been taking Spanish immersion lessons on a daily basis so he can help the girls keep up their Spanish now that they’re home.  It’s important to M’s mom to have her heritage be part of the girl’s lives, so Dad is doing this because of that.  Isn’t that awesome?

Here’s where it gets really good.  M’s mom and M love to dance Latin style.  It’s in their blood and they are very good.  Dad?  Well, he’s from Yakima, WA, so he wasn’t raised around a lot of Latin dancing.  For the past 7 weeks, he’s been taking private salsa lessons to surprise his wife with.  And he paid for Austin and another boy to take the lessons, too.  Three times a week Dad, Austin and the boy have been put through the salsa ringer.  Austin actually took a Latin dance class from M’s mom awhile back and really enjoys it.  For a white boy, he’s got some rhythm.

Anyway, today (Wednesday) is the big reveal.  My part in this? I have to get the stupid thing video camera on a tripod, set up to get a good view of the room and vacate the premesis before they arrive.   Austin and the boy will be hiding in a closet in the studio and will surprise the two girls at some point.  I’m petrified that I’m going to be so nervous that I’ll drop the camera or something.  I had nightmares last night about the camera and tripod being in case, inside of another case, inside of another case and I was sweating trying to get it all put together.  Only to find out that the whole thing had been postponed until Friday.  Hopefully that won’t be the case today.

Well, now here it is, 6:00 p.m. and it’s all over.  Thank the sweet Lord above because I don’t think I could have taken it one. more. day.  I didn’t drop anything, got the camera set up and level with a good view.  I left well before the appointed family arrival time and didn’t get to see everyone until the lesson was over.  Suffice it to say, mama was floating on cloud 9.  M’s sister said her dad was scaring her with all the surprises – lol.  And M was beaming, if not still a little shocked . . . as was her salsa partner.  There were so many happy vibes packed in that dance studio that I’m still a little high.  Now just two more group salsa lessons to go and the big welcome home party on Friday.  I am so blessed to have these people in my life.

One response to “Drumroll please . . . . . the big secret revealed

  1. […] her Facebook, she hasn’t had a chance to see the salsa video.  The video that is a result of this.  So here ya go, Tracy.  I do find it ironic that the whole reason I started Myspace was because […]

Leave a Reply

