The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

. . .so too was the spiritual strength that he had just become aware of.

on August 5, 2011

30 Days About MeDay 4: My favorite book

Okay, yesterday’s “favorite t.v. show” was hard, but this is just unfair.  The only thing I do more than watch t.v. is read.  I’ve been reading since I could, well, read.  When I was in first grade, I fell in love with the Beatrix Potter books.  Some boys on the bus were making fun of me for reading.  {Yes, I loved Ms. Potter so much I read her on the bus.  Both ways.}  My translucently thin skin was immediately devastated.  I told my mom about those mean boys.  She told me they were stupid, couldn’t read and were just jealous that I could.

Good Lord I miss that woman.

Any book I’m reading (right now, “Bossypants” by Tina Fey)  or just finished (“The Help” by Kathryn Stockett) is my favorite.  But if I have to choose one over the thousands I’ve read in my life, I’ll have to go with “Anna Karenina.”  I had a whole summer to read it and got it done in six weeks.  While painting our newly purchased home.  While my husband was gone for two weeks and I was home alone with two kids and painting our newly purchased home.

I was one of the scads of women who read it because Oprah told us to.  I can admit it.  And I also have to thank her.  The book was so much more than I could have ever imagined.  I’m sure Mr. Tolstoy had a reason for choosing the name he did, but I really wasn’t impressed with Mrs. Karenina.  Conversely, Kitty is probably my biggest not-real hero.  I wish the book carried her name.

And since I’m trashing Tolstoy, I really could have lived without all the commentary on Russian government.  Sheesh!

And if you think that was just about the most shallow thing you’ve ever read, welcome to the club!

Leave a Reply

