The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

My car, I love it

on August 10, 2011

30 Days About MeDay 9: Something that makes my life easier

The first thing that pops into mind about something that makes my life easier is my car.  It’s not actually a car; it’s a 2008 Toyota Highlander.  Mine looks just like this:

Of course mine is red . . . salsa pearl to be exact.  If you know me at all you know that it is virtually impossible for me to drive anything that’s a boring color.  I just can’t do it.  And even though we weren’t specifically looking for this color when we bought it, salsa just found me.

Why does it make my life easier?  Here’s a tidy little list:

  • My family are Amazons.  My son is 5’11” (he is 15 and happy with how tall he is) and my daughter is 5’6″ (she’s 13 and NOT happy with how tall she is).  I never have to listen to them complain that there isn’t any leg room.
  • The back area – I have no idea what it’s called; it’s certainly not a trunk – is perfect for putting the kennel in and loading the dogs into it.  I don’t have to worry about one bit of dog hair anywhere else.
  • It can haul just about anything.  Not couches or heavy machinery, but we did put a fully assembled treadmill in the back once.
  • Thanks to the rack on top, when we go camping we can put our whatchamacallit thing that we pack a bunch of stuff into up there.  And everything we need to go camping can fit in that and in the back.
  • There’s a third row of stowaway seats . . . need to give someone a ride home?  Just pop the seats up.
  • It has 4 wheel drive for the 2 times a year I need it here.
  • We’ve had it for 2 1/2 years and never had one single problem with it.
  • We got an awesome deal which allowed us to pay it off in just over two years. Well, that and hubby’s overtime.  And his amazing money management skillz.  Not having a car payment makes my life much easier!

I am very, very thankful for the Highlander.  It’s an extremely reliable car and I know it keeps me and my family safe.  Well, as safe as you can be with all the idiot drivers on the road. 🙂

One response to “My car, I love it

  1. I have to admit…I am jealous of how much you love your car. I can’t stand mine and am so excited my lease is up in a few months! I am definitely going to look at some SUVs when I car shop 🙂

Leave a Reply

