The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

A big impact

on August 14, 2011

30 Days About Me Here we are on day 13 of 30 Days of Me.  Today is “Something or someone that has had a huge impact on my life.”  I made a rule for myself on this one.  I can’t say Jesus, the Bible or my family.  I think it’s just a given that those have had the biggest impact in my life.  But this is about huge, not the biggest.

Without a moment’s hesitation I can say someone who has had a huge impact on my life.  It’s my beloved Beth Moore.  She has had the most impact on my Christian life of any person.  I have done all but two of her Bible studies, read a ton of her books, seen her in person more than once, been to simulcasts, and probably more.

I don’t really know what it is about her.  But she speaks to my heart.  More importantly, God speaks to me through her.  She is the first to say it isn’t about her, it’s about God.  I agree 100%, but there is  something about her that draws tens of thousands of women to God.  I have learned more about my God, myself and others because of her.  Simply put, I doubt I would have the kind of relationship I have with God without her influence.

She reminds me of a coffee cup.  In the mornings when we need our caffeine fix, most of us don’t drink straight out of the pot.  We use a cup.  The cup is just the vessel that holds what we need.  Beth is the coffee cup that holds a supersized dose of God.

I just wish I could thank her in person.

Leave a Reply

