The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Curry, curry, curry

on August 22, 2011

30 Days About Me Day 21: A recipe I love

For most of my life I thought I hated curry.  This would be because I’d never had it and my mom told me it was awful.  Many Not too many decades later, enter my neighbor.  She had a nanny emergency about three years ago and I ended up watching her precious three-month old son for a couple of hours.  She told me to help myself to anything and that she had chicken curry salad in the fridge.

My curiosity got the best of me and I had to try the salad.  That was the end of my lifetime of disliking curry for no reason.  I have been head over heels in love ever since.   OH!  And that same neighbor has a sister visiting Thailand right. now. and she’s bringing us back some curry!!  How did I ever get so lucky?

Chicken Curry Pasta Salad

    • 1 lb chicken breast, diced
    • 1 tablespoon sweet curry powder
    • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
    • 2 tablespoons lime juice, divided
    • 4 quarts water (for boiling pasta)
    • 1 teaspoon salt
    • 1 lb dry bow-tie pasta
    • 1 cup frozen petite peas
    • 1/2 cup minced red onion
    • 2/3 cup low-fat mayonnaise
    • 1 tablespoon dijon-style mustard (I use the type with the seeds in the mustard)

Directions:

  1. Combine curry, oil, and 1 T lime juice, pour over chicken, toss to coat, cover and refrigerate 1-2 hours.
  2. Heat large nonstick skillet over med heat, add chicken.
  3. Cook, stirring regularly, about 3 min (or more). Reduce the heat a bit if the sauce starts to darken.
  4. Remove the pan from the heat, let cool while the pasta boils.
  5. Boil pasta in salt and water, rinse and set aside. For about the final 2 min of cooking time, add the peas, drain and rinse w/rest of pasta.
  6. While pasta cooks, prepare the salad dressing. It is important to have dressing done at same time as pasta, so pasta doesn’t sit w/out dressing too long, as it will clump.
  7. In a large bowl, blend minced red onion, mayonnaise, mustard and 1 T lime juice.
  8. Add the curried chicken w/all the sauce out of the pan; whisk to blend.
  9. Add pasta and peas, toss to coat and add salt if desired (which I never do).
  10. Serve right away or chilled for later. 8-12 servings.

I got the original recipe here and made a few of my own tweaks.   This is one of the few dishes my whole family can agree on.

One response to “Curry, curry, curry

  1. Exactly what I was looking for, appreciate it for posting .

Leave a Reply

