The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

My Labor Days

on September 4, 2011

I think I do this almost every year, but in case you’re new around here, here goes . . . . .

How long were your labors?

Kid #1, 2 hours

Kid #2, 0 hours

How did you know you were in labor?

Kid #1, I was induced because he was huge.

Kid #2, no labor for this one

Where did you deliver?

Kid #1, Alaska Regional Hospital (they have the BEST after delivery rooms)

Kid #2, Providence Alaska Medical Center

Drugs?

Kid #1, Epidural

Kid #2, Epidural —> anti-dry heaving meds —-> meds for most astounding headache of my life.  At this point I yelled,I’m never having another kid!  {Insert doctors and nurses laughing out loud.}  And this was all before she even made her way out.

C-section?

Kid #1, Yes.  They broke my water and he decided to go nuts.  He completely flipped over, had his head up, one foot over said ginormous head and one foot down the birth canal.  Emergency c-section for me!  Later my doctor told me I probably couldn’t have delivered him anyway because his head was so freakishly large.  He takes after his mother.  :-s

Kid #2, Yes.  She was scheduled because she measured large (she was 9’15”) and my body was showing no signs whatsoever of letting this kid go.

Who delivered?

              Kid #1 & #2, Dr. Donna Chester.  The best OB/GYN in the country.

How about you? What are your numbers?

One response to “My Labor Days

  1. Harriet says:

    Both my kids were c-section, too. Rebecca was a footling breach. She settled in head up (sticking in my ribs) at about 7 months and didn’t move (except to stretch into my rib cage and kick my bladder!) Water broke, and when I went in early on a Saturday morning, the nurse felt a little foot and a bit of cord, so it was pretty much immediate c-section. Really don’t remember any labor pains…nothing serious, anyhow. Ryan was a scheduled c-section. Went in the day before, had a spinal, and ba ba boom! Baby boy. (Both with lots of pretty red hair, and nice big round heads!)

Leave a Reply

