The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

Ten year anniversary

on September 5, 2011

Today marks the 10 year anniversary of homeschooling in our house.  I realize it’s Labor Day . . . but the hubby works today and we don’t have any plans.  PLUS, I have a surprise up my sleeve for the kids on Wednesday that will include not doing school.  It would have been wasteful to take today off.

Anyhoo, since I’m so deep and sensitive, my immediate thought on this 1oth anniversary was, “Oh!  I wonder what gifts are traditional for 10th anniversaries?  Maybe I can get Tyler to buy me something.”  So I look up “10th anniversary gifts” and find that traditionally, tin or aluminum is to be given.  What?  What am I supposed to do with that information.  I felt like Ralphie from “A Christmas Story” when he decoded his first secret message with his Secret Society Decoder Pin from Little Orphan Annie.

I will somehow find a way to carry on by posting pictures of my kids.  An 8th grader and a sophomore.  How did that happen?

Austin was closing his eyes on purpose so he looks almost deliriously happy.  Which he was not.

He was forcing his eyes open at this point . . . or so he said.

My little shot of 8th grade sunshine!

I’ll admit, it’s nice to have the house quiet again.  It gets so noisy in the summer.  In fact, it’s so quiet I’m almost falling asleep posting this.  Oh wait, the beagle just came in . . . she’ll keep me awake!

I just found out that this is my 500th post.  Think there’s a gift for that??

Leave a Reply

