The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

30 Days of Thankfulness {Day 2}

on November 2, 2011

Here in the Pacific time zone I have two hours until November 3, so I’m technically not late posting this.  Even though the idea is “days” of thankfulness.  Whatever.  Living on the edge is how I roll.

What am I thankful for today?  Where I live.  I don’t live in Portland, Oregon, but I do live in the metro area.  And I love it.  Love with a capital L O V E.  Here is a brief list of why:

  • The colors in autumn are amazing!  We had a warmer than average September and first part of October so the leaves are taking their sweet time turning this year.  But there’s a little more every day and it’s beautiful.
  • Portland.  HELLO??  The fact that this Alaska girl lives about 20 minutes from the heart of a big, vibrant, crazy, quirky, oh-so-much-to-offer city is more than I can take some days and I’ve been here almost 8 years.  I simply can’t imagine living anywhere else.
  • Our church home and family is amazing.  I can never thank the Lord enough for New Heights!  In fact, my church will probably be a whole post by itself sometime this month.
  • We’re 1 1/2 hours from the Pacific ocean and some of the most stunning beaches in the world.  Okay, so I wouldn’t be offended if the weather on our beaches was about 20 degrees warmer (and the water, too) but I’ll take what we have.
  • The food here is amazing.  From restaurants to farmer’s markets to produce stands to being able to find goat cheese at Winco . . . this place has food nailed!  And a confession – Portlanders kind of have this strange obsession about knowing where their food is from . . as in what ranch was your steak grown at, what farm produced your eggs.  I honestly thought everywhere was like that until I watched Portlandia.  Apparently we’re a little on the strange side for being so enthusiastic about our food supply.  It always makes me giggle now when I see a menu that has all its main ingredients listed and where they’re from.
  • Speaking of food, the sushi here is bomb-tastic.  There’s a sushi bar on every corner.
  • I read in a magazine that Portland started the food truck/cart craze.  It is so. much. fun!!  The pods (many carts in one location) are one of the most fun things I’ve experienced.

So there.  I’m so thankful and so in love with my little neck of the woods that’s only a short drive to the big neck of the woods.

Leave a Reply

