The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

30DOT {Day 3}

on November 3, 2011

Today I am thankful for the reason this post is later in the evening.  It’s a beautiful thing called Friday school.  It’s a co-op for homeschoolers that meets one morning a week (not necessarily Fridays) for chapel and three classes for our kids.  It’s all run by parents, taught by parents and as much as it’s for the kids, it’s really for the parents.

It is amazing what 3 1/2 little hours once a week will do for you.  I have found more love, more encouragement, more friendship and more healing through Friday school than anywhere else besides my church.  When we started attending in September, 2009, my mom had died six weeks earlier.  I was a complete wreck and on the verge of an emotional breakdown (that happened six weeks later . . . probably won’t end up on the Thankful For list).  I remember sitting in that first chapel and crying.  It was so amazing to see so many adults and kids together that were happy and praising God.  I was in a sea of sadness and was overwhelmed.

Only one lady there knew what was going on with me then.  The gigantic amount of love, acceptance, and friendship I received over the next 8 weeks were pivotal in my healing.  Just the way they loved me was exactly what I needed.

A year later in the first chapel of 2010 I cried again.  This time because I was overwhelemed with how far God had gotten me in the past year.

This year, 2011, I didn’t cry at all.  I was so proud of myself.

Thank you, Friday school and First Class Homeschool Ministries . . . . you mean more to me than you’ll ever know and I’ll be thankful for you for the rest of my life.

P.S.  The reason I’m late is because I’m right in the middle of getting ready for the class I teach tomorrow morning 🙂

One response to “30DOT {Day 3}

  1. I can’t imagine First Class or Friday School with out you Cheri! We are so thankful for all you do for our co-op! Your post made me cry by the way. What a bunch of cry-babies we are! =)

Leave a Reply

