The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

30DOT: {Lame-o Edition}

on November 23, 2011

Sigh.  I really thought I could keep up with this.  Oh well, here’s a recap of the past week.

Day 17:  Thankful that I went to the Columbia outlet and got a $240 coat for $78.  After 8 years, my blood has sufficiently thinned to the point that I freeze in 45 degree weather.  All of my pretend winter coats haven’t been cutting it for about a year.

Day 18:  Thankful that even though I only got 4 hours of sleep, I was able to function and be in a good mood for the last day of Friday school.  You see, Amber and I were crazy enough to go to the midnight showing of “Breaking Dawn.”  Which meant I got to sit out in the rain for about 1 1/2 hours waiting for the doors to open.  It was super fun . . . and I’m not being sarcastic.

Day 19:  I had never been so warm at a winter soccer game as I was at this one.  All thanks to my supa fly new coat.  And winter boots, ski gloves and a quilt.  And long johns.

Day 20: This was a rough day.  Due to a series of miscommunications, Austin and I ended up in Clackamas for no good reason.  Then I kinda sorta lost it over the condition of the kid’s bathroom – the one which a certain child is supposed to be in charge of cleaning.  Then my Bible study leader called and asked if I could lead that night.  I was happy to lead, but knew I needed a shift in focus.  So I prayed real hard and had a major attitude shift!  Yay!!  My mother in law arrived safely from Washington, D.C. to spend the night with us.  I’m thankful for her safe vacation.

Day 21: Thankful that I told the kids we were taking the whole week off for Thanksgiving!!  Woot!  And doubly thankful that Amber’s gross cough was not bronchitis or pneumonia . . . . apparently she had a cold that had zero symptoms except for a cough!  She’s getting better.

Day 22: So thankful that when I told my kids to come in the kitchen and pray for their dad, they just walked over, let me put my arms around them, bowed their heads and prayed.  Tyler interviewed for a detective position yesterday.  If you’d like to send up a prayer for the decision process (we won’t find out for another week), it would be appreciated.  It’s not a promotion, pay increase, etc.  We just want Tyler where God wants him.  If He wants him in detectives or still on patrol is fine with us.

I put my arms around both the kids’ shoulders.  Considering they are both taller than I am, it’s a bit awkward.  I look like a bird with its wings in up above their head.  Amber said, “Is it weird that we’re both taller than you?”  Yes it is dear, yes it is.

Leave a Reply

