The Misadventures of Cheri

Mortifying my kids one swimsuit at a time

In those days

on December 14, 2011

Tonight at my Bible studies’ annual Christmas party, I heard the words that stop me dead in my tracks.  Every. Single. Time.  It doesn’t matter what time of year it is.  It doesn’t matter where I am.  But my feelings  intensify this time of year.

The words come from Luke 2:1, “In those days Caesar Augustus issued a decree that a census should be taken of the entire Roman world.”

I can’t explain it.  There are no other grouping of words in the English language that come close to evoking the emotion these do.  Even tonight, after hearing them for the 7,600th time in my life, I teared up.

Simply put, those words quiet my spirit and soul.  I think of my Savior and I am ushered into astonishment.  That  God would send His son into this world for us.  That He would suffer and die a horrible death just for us.  Because He loves us.  I don’t love people that much.  Giving my son for a sorry bunch of humans?  Nope.  But God did.

And I am astonished.

3 responses to “In those days

  1. Polarbelle says:

    That’s very profound, Cheri,and humbling. It gives me pause. It’s not all about lights and presents, it’s about the living breathing Savior. It’s about a silent night where God sent His son. Thank you for the reminder to slow down and focus on that.

  2. When I was growing up, we read Luke 2 every Christmas morning before opening any gifts. I ALWAYS got choked up as my dad read it to us. What a BEAUTIFUL love story for us. It is astonishing – and I “get” Silent Night… Thanks for sharing your heart on this – as I read Luke 2 this season, I’ll be thankful for a God who loves us so much!

  3. {As I wipe away the tears} What a sweet sweet post Cheri…oh how LOVED we are…and it’s so awesome to be reminded of that this time of the year. Luke 2 is truly a love story. I taught Jr. Church last Sunday and when I told the kids that Jesus was born to die..several of them gasped and looked at each other. May we always be in AWE of that VERY BEST GIFT! My Deb – The Queen Mommy – has a link to this post at hers today…so glad I followed it here. May you and yours enjoy a very blessed CHRISTmas week!

Leave a Reply

